We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Wah Heen

Lai Wah Heen
110 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Downtown)
416-977-9899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lai Wah Heen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #320 of 7,528 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Dundas Street West
Transit: South West corner of Dundas Street and Chestnut street. Two blocks west of Dundas subway station. Two blocks east of St. Patrick subway station.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very tasty dim sum. Crab was done in the shape of a crab which was unique. Seafood noodles were great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank expediti0nleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upscale Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I love traditional dim sum in Toronto. The bustle of the steamer carts, the plastic table cloths and the variety of dishes all make for one of my favorite dining experiences.

Lai Wah Heen takes amazing dim sum and kicks it up a notch. The ambiance and service is what I would expect from a French-fusion restaurant. The har gow, sui mai, and shrimp cheong fun did not disappoint. Lai Wah Heen will be one of my regular stops for lunch when I'm in Toronto.

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A well known Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor of the Metropole Hotel. The entrance is not up to the standard of the Restaurant.Wewere a table of eight ,ordered the famous Dim Sum, which were very good, Pekingese duck, was a disappointment, cold and dry! The rest of the food was rather good. The service was not that great, waitress rather rude , the atmosphere is cold .
We had been there 5 years years ago , it was much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had visited Lai Waheen perhaps 10 years ago and had fond memories. At the time I was relatively new to the delights of Dim Sum and the experience was fantastic. I am not sure whether the level of performance has slipped a little or whether I am just more used to excellent Dim Sum, but while I enjoyed my visit, I do not think that this ranks amongst the best Dim Sum west of Hongkong. Still well worth a visit if you want to have Dim Sum in a quiet and pleasant athmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dazzling Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This upscale Chinese restaurant is a jewel. Located in the Metropolitan hotel, it offers an elegant, tranquil atmosphere and the best Dim Sum you will find anywhere. Artfully designed, delicate flavors, a wide selection. Don't miss the wok fried turnip cake , siu Mai or the deep fired eggplant with shrimp paste and garlic. Fried "cocoon" of shredded Chinese radish also delish!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Wah Heen also viewed

 

Been to Lai Wah Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing