We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Wah Heen

Lai Wah Heen
110 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-977-9899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lai Wah Heen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #325 of 6,878 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Shanghai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Dundas Street West
Transit: South West corner of Dundas Street and Chestnut street. Two blocks west of Dundas subway station. Two blocks east of St. Patrick subway station.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum (but a little pricey)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very tasty dim sum. Crab was done in the shape of a crab which was unique. Seafood noodles were great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    63
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Upscale Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love traditional dim sum in Toronto. The bustle of the steamer carts, the plastic table cloths and the variety of dishes all make for one of my favorite dining experiences.

Lai Wah Heen takes amazing dim sum and kicks it up a notch. The ambiance and service is what I would expect from a French-fusion restaurant. The har gow, sui mai, and shrimp cheong fun did not disappoint. Lai Wah Heen will be one of my regular stops for lunch when I'm in Toronto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A well known Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor of the Metropole Hotel. The entrance is not up to the standard of the Restaurant.Wewere a table of eight ,ordered the famous Dim Sum, which were very good, Pekingese duck, was a disappointment, cold and dry! The rest of the food was rather good. The service was not that great, waitress rather rude , the atmosphere is cold .
We had been there 5 years years ago , it was much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had visited Lai Waheen perhaps 10 years ago and had fond memories. At the time I was relatively new to the delights of Dim Sum and the experience was fantastic. I am not sure whether the level of performance has slipped a little or whether I am just more used to excellent Dim Sum, but while I enjoyed my visit, I do not think that this ranks amongst the best Dim Sum west of Hongkong. Still well worth a visit if you want to have Dim Sum in a quiet and pleasant athmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dazzling Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This upscale Chinese restaurant is a jewel. Located in the Metropolitan hotel, it offers an elegant, tranquil atmosphere and the best Dim Sum you will find anywhere. Artfully designed, delicate flavors, a wide selection. Don't miss the wok fried turnip cake , siu Mai or the deep fired eggplant with shrimp paste and garlic. Fried "cocoon" of shredded Chinese radish also delish!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Wah Heen also viewed

 

Been to Lai Wah Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lai Wah Heen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.