We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dim Sum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Wah Heen

Lai Wah Heen
110 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-977-9899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lai Wah Heen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #637 of 6,595 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Shanghai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Dundas Street West
Transit: South West corner of Dundas Street and Chestnut street. Two blocks west of Dundas subway station. Two blocks east of St. Patrick subway station.
Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had visited Lai Waheen perhaps 10 years ago and had fond memories. At the time I was relatively new to the delights of Dim Sum and the experience was fantastic. I am not sure whether the level of performance has slipped a little or whether I am just more used to excellent Dim Sum, but while I enjoyed my visit, I do not think that this ranks amongst the best Dim Sum west of Hongkong. Still well worth a visit if you want to have Dim Sum in a quiet and pleasant athmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    32
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dazzling Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This upscale Chinese restaurant is a jewel. Located in the Metropolitan hotel, it offers an elegant, tranquil atmosphere and the best Dim Sum you will find anywhere. Artfully designed, delicate flavors, a wide selection. Don't miss the wok fried turnip cake , siu Mai or the deep fired eggplant with shrimp paste and garlic. Fried "cocoon" of shredded Chinese radish also delish!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“an just above average Chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Some really fun appetizer I had never seen in other Chinese restaurants. Entrees were just okay, but they did look good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the dining experience at Lai Wah Heen. It was easy to make reservations, service was prompt and courteous, and the food was amazing! I was particularly impressed with the oyster (not pictured) very delicate and amazing flavor! The crab and lobster were also delightful. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good service, good dim sum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have wanted to dine at Lai Wah Heen for some time. We have eaten Diim Sum at very good quality establishments for 25+ years so I was interested in trying this restaurant based on long standing positive reviews.

I found the decor taste full and the service to be excellent. The price was reasonable based on the quality of product and service offering.

The food was quite good but not the best Dim Sum I have experienced. If I were visiting Toronto and was looking for a safe bet for a quality experience this would be a good choice however my personal preference would be to dine at an alternative spot like the Emerald in Mississauga. The service for is minimal however the dim sum is of high quality and it provides more of the Dim Sum experience we personally enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Wah Heen also viewed

 

Been to Lai Wah Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lai Wah Heen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.