We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Flavourful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
3337 Bathurst St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-783-9452
Improve this listing
Ranked #910 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh and Flavourful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Admittedly, it is not the most elegant venue but so what? The service was friendly and sincere. The menu has a lot of great choices. The food was noticeably fresh and delicious. The wine selection was limited but sufficient. The whole family was pleased with the evening's dining experience.

Interestingly, we hadn't been to La Mexicana for years prior to our visit this week. Without a doubt, we will not wait that long to return this time.

Next time though, I'm going to call for reservations because there's limited seating and it was pretty busy when we went. It's a keeper!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Run Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have been visiting this establishment for about 15 yrs or more now. I love this place. It is run by a very friendly and personable family. They will customize things to fit your dietary needs. Their Guacamole is to DIE FOR!!!
The food is fresh. You can taste that it isn`t frozen. The only complaint i can think of is i do like Salsa a little chunkier but the flavor is there.

I now live in Mississauga but anytime I am in that area i stop it to either just talk to the wonderful people, eat or pick up some guacamole to take home

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good, would recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Small family run restaurant on Bathurst about a km from the 401. Prices were ok, portions were not huge, but I got an appetizer black bean soup and they give all their customers nachos and salsa so it worked out fine. I had their combo, beef burrito and chicken enchilada. I would return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

don't know what else to say. I'm pretty sure this is the worst Mexican restaurant in Toronto. The drinks were fine but the meat in my burrito was definitely the leftovers from the chicken sopa. The flavours were bland and the entree was expensive. Do not go to this restuarant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Disappointing. Did not...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Disappointing. Did not live up to review on TorontoLife.com.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.