We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fenice

La Fenice
319 King St. W | W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-585-2377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We ate here on the evening of Dec 12, 13 before going to see Les Miserables at the Princess of Wales theatre. After having many, many disappointing (to understate it) restaurant meals, I am so happy to say that everything about this meal and this experience was letter-perfect! From the complimentary bruschetta, to the amazing Calabrese bread, to the appetizers, salads, main courses (grilled seafood platter that was cooked perfectly! and linguine and clam sauce) and then finally what was described as 'the best Tiramisu in the city' - which was, by the way, an accurate statement! What a meal!! Such a pleasure!! What dining out should be and rarely is!! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Concierge recommended the Verona next door but trip advisor rated this one better. Menu listed flourless chocolate cake. I have gluten allergy NOT preference and was sadly disapponted that the desert was not gluten free. Even more disappointed that what I was told would be gluten free Was Not. Food overall was bland and dissapponting which is sometimes due to modifications due to gluten allergy but I was told that there would be no need for substition with what was ordered? Service was indeed outstanding and I blame the chef for inaccurate information on gluten. Very glad that it was the end of our trip or would have ruined the vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa,On
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh, Friendly and Fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an awesome meal here prior to going to watch Les Miserable. The service was excellent from the time we entered until we left. We advised them that we were going to a show and they timed out our meal perfectly.

We were provided some bruschetta that comes complimentary with you meal. For an appetizer we has the buffalo mozzarella that is made fresh in house, served with tomatoes and fresh basil. This was by far some of the best buffalo mozzarella I have ever had.

We each had a main course that had pasta and you could certainly tell it was made fresh. The portion size was just right and you would not leave feeling hungry for sure. They had some excellent choices for the evening specials, one of which included lobster. My wife had the lobster even without asking the price. When we got the bill, we were surprised at how inexpensive it was.

You have to save room for dessert as there is a good selection. Again, we were not disappointed with our choices.

They have a nice selection of wine to choose from to go with any meal selection.
We arrived at 530, finished at 710 and in our seats at the theatre at 715 for a 730 performance.

I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great pretheatre dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Across from the theatre makes for a great location. They work with predinner time tables so we enjoyed a well timed meal that got us out the door in good time.
Great food with choices for even the picky eater in the crowd. We will be back..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Came here on a Saturday night. Loved eating there. Very comfortable atmosphere, not too loud either. Food is excellent, you get what you pay for type of deal. Service was very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fenice also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fenice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.