We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside facade fool you! Great chow! =))” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kom Jug Yuen Restaurant

Kom Jug Yuen Restaurant
371 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (China Town)
(416) 977-4079
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,828 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: China Town
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside facade fool you! Great chow! =))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are pretty much always at Spadina Avenue in Toronto, the "Chinatown", but has never been to this restaurant - ever. Why? Because the outside is not very welcoming, it looks old and it is! But the sign board boasts: The BEST BBQ Pork in North America. And it sure is!

The Barbecued Pork "melts in your mouth" and I have had many BBQ pork's but theirs is hands-down the best by far.

Came in this past weekend with my family, consisting of 4 adults and 1 child, we spent $45.00 and was so surprised at how reasonable the prices were. We ordered: Young Chow fried rice, Eggplant schezuan style, Chicken noodles (fried noodles) and a good sized Sea Bass, which was steamed then fried topped with the most delicious sauce...the servings are generous and the other patrons with us, was enjoying their food tremendously.

I guess it being old and really a "hole in a wall" kinda restaurant makes it unique, the food is excellent, the service is fine...we really have no complaint about this restaurant. We are definitely now repeat customers...it's homey, it's not pretentious, it's not commercial "Chinese" food...it's not what the other shi-shi Chinese restaurants pretends to be, were you end up getting small portions at expensive prices!

If you want to try a very laid-back, simple atmosphere with GREAT Chinese food, then this is the place to be...the BBQ pork alone with a bowl of rice is enough to make you smile, as your taste buds enjoy the deliciousness of this delicacy =))

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great little place for large amounts of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We brought the family here while in Chinatown in July. After reading a few reviews it sounded like it was worth a visit. It's small and not the most lavishly decorated restaurant but the food was great and the portions were huge. The cost for 5 of us to eat was under $50 and we had leftovers which we left for some homless people on the street since we were from out of town. Check this place out !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best little hidden gem in china town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was brought here on a date when i was in university. the date was a fiasco but the meal was delectable. It instantly became my favorite chinese food in the city. I am a big fan of their hot sauce too. The restaurant is a dive...don't be fooled...but you shouldn't be going there for a sit down meal. If you do sit down, plan to share your table with strangers! This place often has lineups of people waiting for their takeout! I highly recommend it but bring it home, take it back to the hotel, but don't eat in and don't use the bathrooms. The staff is nice and when sitting there with my daughter waiting for food, they brought her a plate of freshly sliced oranges while we waited as a courtesy. I thought that was sweet. Another big plus for this place is the amount of food you get for so little money. One of my favorites is their bbq pork, i have never found a bbq pork anywhere ever that i liked as much as here. Give it a try and when you go in, don't stress at how it looks. Imagine yourself in china and remember that the food is why you went.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best Hot and Sour Soup in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want a really unique hot and sour soup come on down to Spadina just south of College on the East side of the street. There are ducks hanging in the window but the real treat is inside for an exceptional bowl of hot and sour. This soup has everything including flavour. The rest of the food is tasty but there's better down the street. But NOBODY makes hot and sour like this. A meal in itself.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The best BBQ Pork in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

It is cheap, it is cheerful, it is friendly, and the food is fabulous. Have the BBQ pork soup with either regular or rice noodles ($5). Have the fried dumplings ($4). That is more than enough for dinner for 2. Have the eggplant with shrimp, or the salted shrimp, or the noodles, or the ...

Just go and eat. Cash only, but you do not need too much. In terms of value for money, guaranteed good food, reasonable service this is the place. There are lots of regulars here, and lots of students, and there is a good reason.

Go, eat, be happy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kom Jug Yuen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kom Jug Yuen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kom Jug Yuen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.