We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; great patio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jawny Bakers

Jawny Bakers
804 O'Connor Drive, Toronto, Ontario M4B2S9, Canada
416-285-1165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,643 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: What began in 1992 with the simple goal to provide delicious food in a friendly atmosphere has become a Toronto treasure for people who enjoy high quality, gourmet-standard meals and snacks in a relaxed yet refined family dining venue.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good food; great patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Although we live in the neighbourhood, we've never eaten here as we had heard the food was not that great. We thought we'd give it a try after reading the recommendation in Today's Parent magazine.

This is really a family place - the service was fabulous and they love kids. The layout was spacious (there was a ton of room between tables) and the patio (which we could not get a seat on) was lovely.

We had the Bayou Jambalaya and the Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf and both were very good. (My husband usually doesn't like anything except jambalaya straight from New Orleans but he was quite satisfied with his meal.) Our daughter had the grilled cheese which came on whole wheat bread and looked delicious.

The only downer with this place is that the mains are more expensive than your typical family chain restaurant so we can't see eating here too often.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FAB FOR FAMILIES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We love this place. It is wonderful for a large group of people or small family. There have a very wide variety of food and we are always happy with it. The last time we were there last weekend the waitress misheard my order and they brought me a salad gratis, while they prepared the correct one. They were also going to give us free desserts but we were full so they gave me a gift card instead. The service is great and there is plenty of parking.

I haven't tried anything from the wine list but the Bloody Caesar's are great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More upscale than pub fare but more than I would expect to pay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

The food is pretty good here. They have the things you would expect from a pub as well as some more upscale foods but I find that they were priced above what I would expect for what it is. That being said I have never had a bad experience. The service is always good and an excellent size for accommodating bing groups.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My team at the office went to Jawny Bakers for our Christmas luncheon. The wait staff was attentive, but not over the top. The food was really good and that says a lot because most "pub" food is mediocre at best. i had the crab cakes!! YUMMY!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food and ambiance are great with service to be desired …”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Attended this restaurant for the second time in as many years and had virtually the same experience both occasions. Food was very good value - lots to choose from and good portion sizes comparatively speaking.

Televisions for the true sports fanatic who is less enthralled with the company he/she is surrounded by and a fireplace for the helpless romantics in attendance just the same. All wood finished interior delivers a certain “upscaleness” that helps to sell the place to new guests as a real gem/surprising restaurant-on-the-corner sort of thing.

Wait staff is understaffed. Employees running around with too much to do, and who are unable to get you what you need in reasonable time. Asked to have the television channel switched to the hockey game 3 times, and 3 different staff members, and 10 minutes later none of them could manage to pick up a remote – one even offered, “We like soccer here. The manager is a United fan and I’m a Liverpool fan. Do we have to watch hockey?” As a paying customer, I would have expected that staff would have more to do than watch soccer on the job. A replay from a match earlier in the day that already had a conclusion I might add … some fans?! Haha.

Oh, and my classic martini came without olives and was barely an ounce/ ounce and a half of alcohol. Bread served to our table was a baguette cut in half … suitable for two people but certainly not 4.

Anyway, excellent food all round. If you’re big on quality service, get there early and don’t have plans afterwards. Enjoy the fairly deep menu and reasonable costs.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jawny Bakers also viewed

 

Been to Jawny Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jawny Bakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.