We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hy's Steak House

Hy's Steak House
101-120 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1T1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416.364.6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: York
Toronto
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A+++++++++ all the way. The food, the service, the atmosphere, the valet parking, you cannot go wrong choosing this place to eat. My new favorite steakhouse in the GTA. The caesar salad made table side was by far the best I have ever eaten. My son who does not even eat salad, ate the entire plate. Great kids menu with great prices. Steaks were perfectly cooked and actually come with a side of potato unlike other steakhouses where you just get the steak then you have to order your own side dish. Perfect service. My water glass was constantly refilled. Excellent drink and wine iPad menu. The desserts were divine. Highly, highly recommend this place. Give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    54
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been to Hy's a few times now and I must say it is easily one of the best steaks in the city. Service is good, as you'd expect. Above that as well is the atmosphere. A place you could take a date to, great lighting and decor. A bit pricey, but people who are used to this level of steak will know its standard. I can say I'm a lifelong customer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very impressive place to dine. The food was fantastic and the service was first class. We were a table of nine and everyone's food was exactly as ordered. Will dine here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I brought a business associate here. Beautiful ambience.

They loved everything as did my wife. I was disappointed with my prime rib that came medium when I specifically asked for as rare as possible. The au jus was not good either. The sides were fine, typical steak house stuff but the kitchen is focused strictly on classic steakhouse cuisine with no creativity. Probably no head chef, just a crew or shift leader. Desserts need work.

Service was excellent. Would return to please a beef-eater.

Hy's is a classic example of selling the sizzle, not the steak and they do it extremely well. I don't really think the food is any better than their sister chain, The Keg, at half the price. But the Keg is for college students or tourists with small budgets and thus would prefer Hy's for the sizzle.

The restaurant is stunningly beautiful.

Wine list is affordable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very high ceilings create a beautiful environment for a dinner, whether business or personal. The staff were wonderful, and the food exceeded expectations. Expensive, and worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hy's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.