We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekly destination for a great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter's Pizza

Hunter's Pizza
2574 Birchmount Rd, Toronto, Ontario M1T 2M5, Canada
416-291-6340
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,947 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Newmarket
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A weekly destination for a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been going to Hunters for close to 20 years now and I can count on one hand...maybe on 2 fingers, the number of meals that disappointed me. Consistent quality, great service and the most reasonable prices you can find for good home made food. This is owned by a husband and wife and they are always in the kitchen and quality is first with them. The home made sauce for their lasagna and spaghetti, pizza dough from scratch and home made baklava. Known for their souvlaki, DO NOT miss out on trying their Hunter's Deluxe pizza. I love to support independent restaurants versus the chains because I know what I will expect there. The personal service and interaction with the owners is something you don't get everywhere. Be sure to try this place for lunch, dinner or catering. I had them cater my Christmas Eve dinner and nobody left the table hungry!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

% Recommend
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The name of the place is deceiving as the restaurant serves Italian and Greek. 4 of us went for lunch and we all ordered the chicken souvlaki on a pita with greek salad. It was the lunch special. Greek salad was delicious...nice vinegary dressing...a little cheap on the feta cheese but what do you expect for $12 each including tip? The restaurant is old and I don't think it has not seen renovations since the beginning but it was clean. None of was used the bathroom so can't comment on cleanliness of that. I picked up a delivery/takeout menu on my way out. They deliver to a limited area in Scarborough so not an option for me.

I have seen other reviews calling it the best greek food outside of the Danforth. Don't know if I would go that far but the experience was worth a 2nd try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best Greek food outside of the Danforth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I've been going to Hunter's Pizza and souvlaki since I was in high school which was 15 years ago.

Hunter's is a small Greek restaurant run by a husband and wife. The taste and portions of the food is the reason I keep coming back. I would argue that the food is better than any Greek restaurant on the Danforth.

Souvlaki dinners include the meat, rice, potatoes, bread and a side salad for about $13 before tax.

As the name implies they also do pizza which also tastes great.

I highly recommend Hunter's to anyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011 via mobile

Great food, great people and even better value. I usually get chicken the chicken souvlaki dinner and I'm never disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Hunter's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.