We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, great patio, indifferent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingway's Restaurant

Hemingway's Restaurant
142 Cumberland St, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1A8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 968-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,100 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Australian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food, great patio, indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been to Hemingway's three times now so I feel fairly confident in my review. All 3 times were weekend afternoons. The atmosphere is interesting and lively.
The retractable awning on the main rooftop patio is excellent for when the sun gets to be a bit much. Also when it rains.
The selection of food is okay. Varies a lot depending on the time of day. Quality was okay given the prices.
All that said, I would go back there anytime for a casual lunch or whatever, except for the service.
Each time it took several minutes for any server to approach us. This review is based on my last visit.
We had to ask especially for water, which was frustrating as it was over 35 degrees out. We weren't once offered refills on water, and when I asked for more water it took almost 10 minutes. The same went for soft drinks.
Entrees all came out at different times, and no explanation or apology by the various indifferent servers.
I got the feeling that if we were drinking more alcohol we would have been more welcome and had better service. Which would be fine if this was a bar and not trying to be a friendly restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    29
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Felt Pushed Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I took my friends to Hemingway's because I have been there before and I wanted to have lunch on a patio in Yorkville and theirs is quite large.

The waitress never introduced herself and once we each ordered something to drink and a meal our drinks menu was taken and immediately upon finishing our food the bill was brought to us. My friends were thinking of ordering more drinks and we had never asked for the bill so we felt hurried and pushed out and not welcome (the patio was not busy at the time).

I'll have to think twice of returning to Hemingway's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the pation upstairs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had a great night here, my husband and I enjoyed some pasta as well as a great steak, our server helped us pair our meal nicely with some wine that they have by the glass, it was great. It does get a bit loud up there but we did not mind. We could still talk and enjoy ourselves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Entire Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located in the heart of Yorkville, Hemingway's is the perfect spot to enjoy a great meal and a drinks with friends. The heated patio is open year-round. Not only is the ambience romantic and inviting, the food is absolutely delicious with many options to choose from. The staff is always friendly and the service is exceptional. Definitely one of my favourite spots in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I have been to Hemmigways many times and I always returned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have always enjoyed my experience at Hemmingway's, I usually sit on the patio on top, they have a nice selection of wines by the glass and they dont mind helping you pair your wine selection with what the best food would be with it. I have tried pasta, steak, but never the bar food, not sure what thats like but all my choices have been great. I hope they keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hemingway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.