We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasslands

Grasslands
478 Queen Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2B4 , Canada (Downtown Toronto)
+1 416-504-5127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #413 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Vegan food done right. We started with the babaganoush, Fava smash, and beets. All 3 were amazing. For a main we shared the Moroccan stew which was hearty and tasty. The mixed mushrooms in lemon sauce and spinach blini were also perfection. P.s. Their seabreeze cocktail is out of this world

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    19
    24
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“•MÍSS YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Oh my sweetiest, most wonderful breakfast—where have you gone? I will look all over for you, we'll meet again some day, surely! I must...go...on...

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Uninspired, inaccurate, unimaginatetive, and underseasoned.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We've been trying to get to Fressen for what seems like years as we travel a great deal and never seemed to manage it until this evening. If you are like us and have travelled the world in search of fine inspired vegan food and you want to know which restaurant in Toronto would stand up to the likes of Millenium in San Francisco, Candle79 in NYC or even Le Potager du Marais in Paris, Fressen is not it. The food at Fressen was unacceptable and would seem to be manufactured by a long-since beaten and uninspired Chef that couldn't care less if menu items were correct (my wife ordered a gluten free corn rigatoni with mushrooms off the menu and got what looked like wheat fusilli pasta with 3 slices of button mushrooms and a garden full of asparagus which was not included in the menu desription - the server really should have mentioned the pasta change in advance), and presented bland dishes that lacked any decipherable seasoning. The good points - the room was warm and inviting although nothing really novel caught our eyes we felt comfortable. The tartar sauce and cucumber salsa that came with the battered tempeh was delightful - too bad the tempeh was cut impossibly thick for an appetizer and the batter was green-Ish and tasteless. My portobello mushroom main was presented well but it seemed like everything in the kitchen was thrown on my plate: cob of corn, broccoli, cauliflower, parsnip, potatoes, asparagus tips, cherry tomato, another mushroom and of course the portobello which was charred to a crisp and topped with a thick layer of house made chimichurri. The one bite I took of the mushroom with chimimichurri was quite possibly the worst bite of food I have had in 2012. Our server never checked to see how we were doing and we accredited this to the likelihood they know what they were serving us was subpar. I probably would have done the same. Earlier in the day we happened across for lunch a delightful restaurant called Vegetarian Haven was leaps and bounds far superior with bright beautiful food and outstanding service. Go there and leave Fressen for the uninspired.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sort out the service issues and you've got a winner on your hands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A Toronto-based friend introduced me to Fressen. As a fellow vegetarian he kew that I would appreciate the joy of being able to linger over a menu rather than just spot the token veggie ‘choice’. Our non-veggie colleague was more concerned but was eventually impressed.

The initial impression was of a very warm restaurant! However, the staff turned the heat down as soon as we asked. A choice of beers helped us to enjoy the process of choosing from an extensive list of cold tapas, appetisers, starters and mains. The ambience helped – the place has a relaxed and modern vibe with elegant lighting and a distinctly upmarket feel.

In the end we chose polenta ($9); sweet potato soup ($6) and beet & mandarin orange salad with balsamic vinegar and herbs ($6). The soup, which was the special of the day was, according to my friend, outstanding. The polenta was suitably comforting and served as three shapes, a circle, a square and a triangle with a herbed tomato sauce, sauteed shiitake mushrooms, spinach and a reduced balsamic glaze.

For mains we went for the creamed corn rigatoni in a white wine and celery root cream sauce with mixed seasonal vegetables ($16); the grilled seitan (charred black bean wheat steak served with sauteed vegetables and grilled greens) ($16) and the Moroccan stew (stewed sweet potato, onion, carrots and chickpeas in a cumin infused tomato broth served with brown rice) ($16). We were happy with all three choices. The presence of Japanese radish (Daikon) intrigued my colleague who hadn’t seen it before.

So, an excellent choice for dinner – lots of choice from a very tempting menu. Well-cooked and inventive meals and with one flaw, very good service. The one flaw occurred when the mains were brought to us as we were three-quarters of the way through the starters. The server needed some convincing to return them to the kitchen – all very amateurish, really, which spoiled the otherwise professional service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Really good food but the service has to be the worst in the city. Really too bad because the restaurant has the potential to be great if only the FOH was together.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasslands also viewed

 

Been to Grasslands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasslands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.