We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Niente Napa Grill

Far Niente Napa Grill
187 Bay St (At Wellington St), Toronto, Ontario M5L 1G5, Canada
416-214-9922
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Far Niente Napa Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,095 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wellington Street
Description: Located in Toronto's energetic Financial District, Far Niente features an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and style with an impressive blend of open space dining that also offers easy intimacy. Executive Chef Pat Riley's vibrant New World-inspired cuisine presents a blend of seasonal artisan products, intense flavors, and stunning presentations. Far Niente offers professional, gracious service that accommodates every guest's need. Far Niente has once again been acclaimed as one of the Distinguished Restaurants of North America (DiRoNa). Far Niente offers complimentary parking after 5:30pm at Commerce Court, and is centrally located to all financial, theatre and concert centres.
Oakville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate at Far Niente on Thursday July 11. We were attending a concert and had a little over an hour to eat. We asked the server if he thought we would have time for the three course Summerlicious menu. He said it would be a rush but we decided to go for it. They served a delicious three course meal in a little over an hour. We didn't feel rushed and everything came in good time. We both had the salmon tartare starter. It was fabulous. A great combination of smoked salmon, tomato puree and several veggies. I had the grilled jerk chicken and it too was awesome with just the right seasoning. The chicken was moist and done to a turn. She had the steak and it too was great. Just the right time on the grill for medium rare. This was our first visit in a while and we'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    39
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty summerlicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Normally would not have visited this restaurant for lunch as it is one of the high end ones in the financial district. Since summerlicious is on, I decided to give it a try. And I must say, I am not disappointed at all...

Food was great - well prepared and well presented. I had the pan roasted Trout which was delicious. Tomato and candied shallot salad was good and so was the Chili chocolate fudge cake. Amazing cranberry lemonade infused with rosemary, although very pricey. Service was very efficient, although not very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went there with family.

Between us we had the seafood tagliatelle, bluefin tuna and crushed salmon. We all thought the food was really good and service great. Price reasonable. Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What happened”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not what is used to be. And what ever happened to the magical Lobster Pot Pie? This used to be a really good place, now it is just average. What a shame

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Appropriately the restaurants' name means "do nothing" in Italian and there is nothing that comes out of their kitchen that is good.
We started with stale bread and the appetizer of white asparagus. Three toothpick thin green asparagus arrived 10 minutes later. When i informed the waitstaff that I had ordered the white asparagus he smiled and told me that they havent had the white asparagus in more than two weeks! Our original server never returned to ask if everything was ok.
Our mains were ok - well presented but flavourless. The poutine was the best dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Niente Napa Grill also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Far Niente Napa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Niente Napa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.