We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Niente Napa Grill

Far Niente Napa Grill
187 Bay St (At Wellington St), Toronto, Ontario M5L 1G5, Canada
416-214-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Far Niente Napa Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,027 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wellington Street
Description: Located in Toronto's energetic Financial District, Far Niente features an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and style with an impressive blend of open space dining that also offers easy intimacy. Executive Chef Pat Riley's vibrant New World-inspired cuisine presents a blend of seasonal artisan products, intense flavors, and stunning presentations. Far Niente offers professional, gracious service that accommodates every guest's need. Far Niente has once again been acclaimed as one of the Distinguished Restaurants of North America (DiRoNa). Far Niente offers complimentary parking after 5:30pm at Commerce Court, and is centrally located to all financial, theatre and concert centres.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went there with family.

Between us we had the seafood tagliatelle, bluefin tuna and crushed salmon. We all thought the food was really good and service great. Price reasonable. Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What happened”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Not what is used to be. And what ever happened to the magical Lobster Pot Pie? This used to be a really good place, now it is just average. What a shame

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Appropriately the restaurants' name means "do nothing" in Italian and there is nothing that comes out of their kitchen that is good.
We started with stale bread and the appetizer of white asparagus. Three toothpick thin green asparagus arrived 10 minutes later. When i informed the waitstaff that I had ordered the white asparagus he smiled and told me that they havent had the white asparagus in more than two weeks! Our original server never returned to ask if everything was ok.
Our mains were ok - well presented but flavourless. The poutine was the best dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not quite what we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had dinner with a number of friends last week and it really didn't live up to our expectations. There is a good selection of wine and menue items that would suit most peoples appitite! We found the food to be only okay and the service not so good. At the time of our visit I was quite surprised to see only 7 other guest dining in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice choice in business district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The food here is reliably good and choices can satisfy most. Wine list is good. Service, unfortunately, is poor for an otherwise great restaurant. I come here often for business lunches because its a comfortable room with a great menu. I would likely spend more on drinks, coffees, and so on but it's hard to get waiters attention and they don't offer suggestions. This restaurant leaves a lot of money on the table with unprofessional service (its expense account so I can spend more! Duh). At least the slow service gives me more time with customers. If you aren't pressed for time then you will enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Niente Napa Grill also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Far Niente Napa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Niente Napa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.