We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good indian food for OK price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 309 Dhaba Indian Excellence

309 Dhaba Indian Excellence
309 King St. West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 740-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
309 Dhaba Indian Excellence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,249 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: 1/2 block west of John St.
Transit: TTC at door step, a couple short blocks west of St. Andrew Subway
Description: Five hundred years ago, roadside best restaurants called Dhaba began serving the fresh best Indian food dishes to the travelers of highways and local communities. From the centuries, the best Indian food has been enjoyed at Dhaba's around the Indian Globe. In the year 1998, P.K. Ahluwalia the chef owned restaurant 309 Dhaba was created, that offers a dining experience that customizes the menu at your table and prepares special request for allergies or vegetarians, and has been recognised as best among Indian restaurants in Toronto. 309 Dhaba has been called "Inventive", "Innovative", "Astonishingly good" and "Divine" by the City's top food critics. Cater a Board Room, Business Lunch or Office Party or order online with free Indian food delivery on your door step in downtown Toronto just on your door step. One visit and you will know why 309 Dhaba is repeatedly named not only one of the top Ten Restaurants in Toronto, but best Indian Food restaurant serving the unique Indian Cuisine in restaurant row of entertainment district on king west restaurants in downtown core of toronto in Canada.
Vienna
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good indian food for OK price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Dhaba.

Starters were exceptionally good (we had roasted rack of lamb and tiger prawns), and also for the curries we had variations which we never tried before (mountain goat, faliyan beans) and really enjoyed very much.

Service was friendly and efficient. When they brought the wrong starter, they left it to us for free and while we had our starters together, they prepared the starter we actually ordered and served it when we were done with our first starters.

Prices were ok for what I experienced in Toronto to pay for reasonable food in average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    16
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Flavourful Oasis in the Entertainment District of Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great complimentary pappadums, decent wine list with many choices available by the glass. We had the butter chicken, lamb loin and lamb vindaloo as mains and shared a lamb tree-way as a starter. Each dish had distinct flavours and were accompanied by naan or saffron rice sides. Very tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Service was good and friendly but not extraordinary. Besides the waiters were shouting at ppl in the kitchen and because we were sitting quite close to the kitchen we heard it pretty well.
Food was good. Not really great or anything but good. Butter chicken wasn’t spicy at all but the vegetable samosas we had as a starter were really hot! Sweet lassi was probably my favourite and it was definitely needed when I was eating that samosa.
Although it was a Friday evening and it wasn’t that busy. Got the seats immediately and even the food came pretty quickly. The place itself looks nice inside and the atmosphere there is really calm and relaxed. But have to say that at least for my budget it is a bit expensive. And the portions are not that big either. I mean the portion is just the chicken with the sauce. Nothing else included. Not even rice! Which was quite a surprise for me but maybe it’s usual here. So we had to order some garlic naan and parathas.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tops•”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nothing to dislike here. Wonderful human service, lovely tasty beautiful food, good location, sumptuous atmosphere. Homey place and good for anyone!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Superior Indian restaurant in theatre district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have dined here several times over the years, usually because we needed a good place to eat close to the theatres. Dhaba does not disappoint. It is a second floor establishment and so outside dining is out of the question. But inside the decor is simple but pleasant, and the tables are set with crisp table cloths.
Service is friendly and reliable. All the usual northern Indian choices are on the menu, although the last time we were there i didn`t see my favourite- Tandoori chicken. You will also like the very reasonable prices. I find the food presentation, food portion and food quality excellent and probably better than the other Indian venues on the same street.
Another huge plus is its excellent location near the concert hall as well as the theaters on King street. Highly recommended. I would go back for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 309 Dhaba Indian Excellence also viewed

 

Been to 309 Dhaba Indian Excellence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 309 Dhaba Indian Excellence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.