We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Small but worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonjour Brioche

Bonjour Brioche
812 Queen St. E, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-406-1250
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #652 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Too Small but worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just too crowded but worth the wait. Best lemon curd tart in the city so yummy. I would go for this alone but it's hard not to grab a great sandwich. Take out is another option and quick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tight squeeze, bit of a wait but all worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Get here early for brunch or you'll be waiting.
It's not a big deal unless of course you plan of eating here during a cold winters day. People are forced to wait outside as the space inside is not enough to hold all of the waiting patrons.
Once seated, it's hard not to talk to the people at the table next to you. It's a tight squeeze but the charm of the cafe, great food, intimate atmosphere and friendly staff make up for it all.
This place is both a bakery and a cafe so expect fresh bread and pastries on the spot.
The added bonus comes on the weekends where brunch is served with specials on the blackboard.
Upon recommendation I ordered a 3 layer grilled cheese with prosciutto, arugula, tomato, smoked provolone. No regrets, the sandwich was both messy, filling and delicious!
Take note that this place does NOT take credit or debit cards. Cash only. So be prepared to bring cash or use the ATM downstairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy little cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been here a few times for breakfast/brunch and the food is pretty good and fresh (they bake their own bread). It's always very busy, so go early or expect to wait in line (especially in the summer). Also note that they ONLY ACCEPT CASH and don't take reservations.

I recently went and found that what I received for the money wasn't as good as I remembered (I ordered the daily sandwich, which had a hunk of bread in the middle to appear bigger and came with salad on the side and it was about $10). Our server was also not very attentive and I had to go up and ask to pay my bill and for a box to put my leftovers in after waiting several minutes for him to come over. My boyfriend enjoyed his meal (salmon and eggs), but again he didn't get much for the money (one slice of salmon and a bit of caviar with eggs and two tiny pieces of baguette).

I've tried their omelettes in the past and was very happy with the quality. Overall, this place is decent and usually has good, fresh food (one bad experience out of three visits isn't too bad). Definitely pop in for some of their fresh baked goods (for pick up or dine in).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, but too busy too often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

They have wonderful breads and pastry. The eggs and smoked salmon breakfast is the reason I keep going back even though I know I'll have to wait and will be squished into a small table. Sometime I have been lucky to get a front window table with the extra room, good luck. Reasonable prices and I always pick up a loaf or two of bread after the meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Try and get a seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love this place especially in the summer. They have a little patio that is usually easy to get a seat on in the summer. The rest of the year it is very difficult to get a seat. Very crowded but the food is excellent and the atmosphere is good as well. Service is usually good but the place is always busy so you have to cut the staff a bit of slack. Very nice for brunch or mid afternoon snack.(best chance of getting seat) Worth Checking out for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonjour Brioche also viewed

 

Been to Bonjour Brioche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonjour Brioche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.