We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - service is variable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaticano

Vaticano
25 Bellair St, Toronto, Ontario M5R 3L3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 924-4967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food - service is variable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I like this restaurant has I find the veal very good. I have no experience with the pasta dishes. The sauces with the meats are great, sometimes with odd ingredient combinations but still great tasting.
The decor is a little over the top in places, but there are a number of cozy table for two spots that are great for a romantic dinner.
The oddest thing about this restaurant is the service. Most of my experience is positive, but there have been a couple of occasions when it was quite sullen. There seems to be no middle ground. If it is a bad night re service I still don't mind, as the food is great and I can just cut the tip amount
Street parking after 6:00 IF you can find a spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    28
    14
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Worthy of the name.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The atmosphere is great and staff very friendly.
Pasta sauces like no other. I am never disappointed when I dine here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little italy in toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

If you want to eat pasta or a really nice veal this is the place. A small restaurant full of stories and mediterranean atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge at the Windor Arms. I read some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor before we went. I thought the ambiance (candlelight lit tables) and the food were wonderful. We were met by the owner at the end of the night and were very happy with the service. I had the Viveca Fox Special Entree and my boyfriend had the lasagna- both were outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheesy decor, misfired food, lackluster staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What an odd place. Food is more miss than hit (overcooked pasta that lacks flavor, soups that have odd flavor combinations, meats that look like they got left under the heat lamp). Service that is less-than-cordial (and 100% Indian, which isn't an issue really but was certainly different as was the cheesy decor and multiple items on the menu devoted to Vivica A. Fox).

I'd never return and would've been pissed had I paid for it (and not on the company dime).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaticano also viewed

 

Been to Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaticano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.