We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Embassy Pub and Grill

The Irish Embassy Pub and Grill
49 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1J1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-866-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #737 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Glasgow
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We popped in for a drink and to rest our weary feet after a day of sight seeing in Toronto. This is a busy, buzzing bar that has a mix of tourists, suited and booted execs and locals. Friendly service with a good selection of beers / wines. Food looked tasty.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    90
    47
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Who can resist the name?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Walked past this pub earlier in the day and were intrigued by the name. We decided to go to see if it lived up to its name - we assumed friendly, Guinness and good food.

Arrived to a nearly full pub. A bit of noise and chatter. The table was next to some high stools and looked crowded in but once seated it was fine. The menu is typical Irish pub food but with a couple of twists. Guinness, wine and food were ordered in good time.

The food was good solid pub food. We enjoyed it. The service was OK - not great but enough.

Overall, a nice meal in a familar setting (given there are Irish pubs everywhere).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Echoes of Ireland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place was probably a banking hall. The acoustics are horrific and even normal conversation becomes shouting. A bank of tvs with sports add to the din. Friendly however with a great selection of Irish whiskeys. Try Tyrconnell or a Bushmillls malt.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Lamb Stew, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went for a casual business lunch and we had great service. The wait staff were very attentive but not overly in your face. We were given the time to have a good look at the menu and decide on the order. Delivery of the food was fast, portions and presentation were good and overall dining experience was very good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“an impressive pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014




The Irish Embassy is a high end pub. Its high ceilings and décor suggest that it may have previously been a bank.

It has a great selection of beers and the food was solid good.

The fish and chips was very good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Embassy Pub and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.