We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always over the top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splendido Bar & Grill

Splendido Bar & Grill
88 Harbord St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1G6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
+1 416-929-7788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Splendido Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $26 - $43
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Spadina
Transit: Bloor and Spadina
Toronto Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always over the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been to Splendido many times over the years. It is always consistent and over the top. At my last event at Splendido, we had a truffle tasting menu that was specifically paired with the wines we brought. The flavours were fantastic. The highlight was the pasta with truffle shaving. Splendido continues to outperform its competition. Carlo is very accommodating with those who bring their cellared wines. The chef visited our table a couple of times to check on his take with pairings of Super Tuscan and Bordeaux wines we had selected for our ultimate dining experience. Well worth the cost, do not hesitate, simply go for the truffle tasting menu every fall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Best restaurant I have been too in Toronto. I got the seasonal tasting menu and it was delicious. Presentation, food and service was exceptional.

Only issue is some people at the table didn’t get the tasting menu so their appetizers didn’t come out till our 4th course – 1.5 hours into the meal. Make sure everybody at a table gets/ doesn't get the tasting menu. If you have the time the tasting menu is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Toronto and Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

it's my 4th time, and we always enjoy the food and the service. Splendido is considered 'Per Se' of Canada! at least to me! it is one of the very few restaurants in Toronto that offers real 'fine dining' experience. it's a bit expensive though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakarava, French Polynesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've dined again at Splendido and again had excellent service, food and ambiance. They go to great lengths here to make sure that every detail is superb. With wonderful appetizers, mains and desserts and attentive but not overbearing servers you really can't go wrong. This is one resto I will often return to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredible space and amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

While I thought the actual food was ok (I had the sea bass and it was good) the space was perfect for six. The acoustics in the restaurant are amazing so you can hear each other without struggling. The service was over the top from the time we walked in and our coats were taken, at the bar and at the table. I can't say enough about the staff. Would definately go back in a heartbeat to give it another go....the winelist alone is a reason to head back :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splendido Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Splendido Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendido Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.