We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
378 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1S6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-598-4003
Improve this listing
Ranked #528 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good pub with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was pretty good and perfect for children. Just watch out because any extras they offer you are charged!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    79
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went here for dinner. Loved the atmosphere. Wasn't too loud like some downtown restaurants. Great menu. I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf. Was so good. Service was good. Will be coming back again for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really good and well located!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I brought a group to this pub while in Toronto for a Conference. We were able to pre order appetizers which were delicious and well presented. The menu is sufficiently varied, well priced, and the service is great too! They have a separate area that our group was able to reserve which though loud due to the bar noise downstairs, is a great space for groups.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is either a small Canadian chain of pubs or looking at TripAdvisor, a giant international chain. Not that it matters to this review.
Wife and I in town for a musical and looking for casual lunch in TO. There is another E&C next to the theater on King St.
Lunch was quite good. 3 fish tacos. In flour tortillas (more usually served in corn), lettuce (not cabbage), tomato and avocado. Salsa and a chipotle dip were served along with tortilla chips. I had the bacon bleu cheese burger. Just to my liking BUT this is Canada, which means that ground beef is served cooked through. If your burger must be rare, stay in the States. Side was fries. Each entree was about $12.
They had a special on Rolling Rock draft $5 a pint. Beer can be expensive in Canada, usually over $6 for a draft.
Property appears to be a converted bank, rather classy. Nice reuse of the property Service was very good, attentive without hovering, friendly without pretending to be your long lost HS friend.
Political comment follows: This is Canada; servers are paid the full minimum wage. They do not depend on tips, as American servers must,to bring their wage in line with other service jobs. I wish that this were the policy in the States. Then the tip could be a valid comment on the quality of service (here it was excellent) and not a strategy to substitute the customer as the wage payer in place of the owner

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“I can't believe it! So yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything is perfect here. I don't know where to start haha!!
I saw in the reviews that it's the best fries one has eaten~ exactly the same feeling! You must order one~
The sauce for every dish is different and tasty!
Quite like delicious Chinese food!
The meat is soft and yummy, the vegetable is fresh~
And every dish seems creative!

I don't know why it is ranked so low on yelp~ in a word~ You can't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.