We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Cafe

Blue Bay Cafe
2243 Dundas St W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(416) 533-8838
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: African, Café
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Delightful experience, and terrific food! Fish in ginger sauce was outstanding. The young man, whose parents own the restaurant, could not have been nicer. Would highly recommend this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For those of you who don't know, Mauritian food can best be described as a fusion of African, Asian and Indian cuisine and the Blue Bay Café does it exquisitely! Some of the standouts on the menu include Chicken Mine Frire, Côtelette Volaille, Daube of Chicken and some delicious samozas. The Fish in ginger sauce is also excellent. If you have never been to this restaurant and you enjoy exotic tastes, you will enjoy it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Curry ourite!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The only Mauritian restaurant in town and it delivered!! I tried the curry ourite and it sent me back to the islands. Well worth the visit, the 1st of many to come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mauritian Home made delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This Mauritian Restaurant is conveniently located in downtown Toronto.
The food, staff and price are all very nice. I had Mauritian fried noodles with vegetables and my friend had oyster curry, rice, samosa and vegetable pickles `achard legumes`
Looking forward to visit this delicious place again this summer with non-Mauritian friends and they are very anxious to learn about our culture, food, language and tradition.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the first restaurant ever reviewed by NOW magazine (you can search at the NOW site) and they revisited it for their 25th anniversary a few years ago. They gave it great reviews the first time and they gave it a big ‘thumbs up’ for their anniversary edition.
I have been going there for a long time, before NOW first visited, and of the scores of meals I have had there I have been disappointed but once (the fish was a little too salty, an off night I suspect) but I have been thrilled many, many times. Great value, great food. Good for vegetarians, children and other trouble makers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bay Cafe also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Blue Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.