We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as it once was....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Reading Court, Toronto, Ontario M9W 7K7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as great as it once was....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the last two years. It is convenient to the airport, but the shuttle is somewhat unpredictable. I've always had a kitchenette which is handy. The room itself is nice enough, but could use an update. The mattress is a bit saggy and the bedding is nothing special. The restaurant, Moxie's, has a wonderful atmosphere. The bar is also nice and open. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Overall, the hotel has great potential. It's just not living up to it at this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    138
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
67
108
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stopping over on way to Maritimes. Shuttle information not clear at airport but when reported was told this is beyond their control as had to come through Airport Authority. Bed was comfortable and all staff helpful and cheerful, no question was to insignificant to respond to.restaurant food good but noise level too high. Amenities listing book was difficult to read if the lighting was inadequate. A more distinct colour difference in the script would have been helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Here on business workshop. All of the staff here were very friendly. Everywhere I would go no one neglected to go out of their way to assist. Housekeeping staff would drop everything and run to help you carry something,give directions or simply stop and smile. Others complained that the mattresses were not so comfortable, I didn't notice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Came for a business meeting. Pretty conveniently close to the airport. Great restaurant. Nice and clean facilities. They gave me a suite with kitchenette (great touch) but the mattress was wear and really uncomfortable to sleep in. There are great options in the area better than this, sleep comfort talking

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I'm an airline crew member and stay at a variety of hotels. I have to say this is not one I would voluntarily stay at.
The Gym looks like something from the 1980s.
The internet cuts in and out in the room.
Its isolated and a "distant" walk to any food establishments.
There is a restaurant in the hotel.
I found blood on my pillow case.
The in room coffee pot did not work properly
The corporate room computers are "slow" they run windows XP.
Had to wait 40mins for the shuttle.
I have to think there are better options out there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was rather annoyed on arrival at the Toronto airport as I had to wait 57 minutes for the shuttle bus to the Sandman. This is not an acceptable wait time, in my opinion. However, on reaching the hotel I voiced my concern to the receptionist and apparently no call regarding the bus had been logged. She then upgraded me to a great room on the 14th floor, with a super comfy king sized bed and even a view of the CN tower. The pool is not great - its not exactly a nice swimming experience, and there is nothing round the hotel - no shops etc. The only restaurants in the vicinity are the plastic Canadian chains and there was not even a grocery store where I could buy provisions. Good value for money though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Sandman Signature twice and it is a decent option for the money, but you can probably do better. There are other options in the area that are within the same price range and were more enjoyable overall (Alt Hotel is one option).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel

Address: 55 Reading Court, Toronto, Ontario M9W 7K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Toronto
#40 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#42 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring, inviting, and with a bold style that is distinctively modern, Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel is the ideal choice for travellers who want elegant, relaxed comfort at its best. Just minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ), this stunning property overlooks the gorgeous scenery of the Royal Woodbine Golf Course while also offering exceptional amenities. Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel makes travel easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel Toronto Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.