We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful Morning Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Toronto to your Saves list
Super 8 Toronto
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Spadina Ave., Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C2, Canada (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful Morning Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I had an unexpected glitch in travel plans and had to make a stop in downtown Toronto. Late at night, I was directed to Super 8 on Spadina Avenue. The room was large and comfortable. I appreciated the very cosy king-sized bed after a grueling African trip.

One bonus was a beautiful view of the CN Tower at sunrise!

In the morning, I waited in the lobby for my son, and was approached several times by a very friendly and helpful staff member who provided me with tips for parking and how to save money around the hotel. She helped me consult a map and really went out of her way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    430
    233
    68
    37
See reviews for
255
269
89
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Located in a shopping mall in the heart of Chinatown with easy access to public transportation. Excellent continental breakfast with lots of options and great coffee! Quiet and clean rooms that come with a microwave oven, small fridge, coffeemaker, excellent A/C, excellent beds, shower with great water pressure, etc... The reasons I do not give an excellent rating to this hotel are: 1) Check-in agent not very friendly, no eye contact and barking questions with the absolute minimum of words instead of asking (check-out agent was good), 2) lack of attention to details in the room: frayed towel with a hole in it (I left it hanging in the bathroom with the hole in evidence to see if it would be replaced by housekeeping but nope), chipped walls and stained ceilings 3) In-room wi-fi service is a hit and miss, often had to stand by the door to get a signal. Did not use parking facilities, exercise room and spa so cannot comment. Overall, great hotel for its category!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were very surprised with the size of room and bed quality. Overall we liked the hotel except the size of breakfast room. It was a bit small for the business. Employees are good in general but I found young lady at check out and breakfast room attendant a bit unfriendly. It must be just their character. It didn't really change our positive opinion about hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Don't be scared off by the Super 8 name. The price and location can't be beat. If you are looking for a five star hotel this isn't it. BUT, if you are looking for the best value in Downtown Toronto hotels, this is it. Lot's of great food options in China Town or Kensington Market, a quick walk to vibrant Queen Street, and easy access to the TTC make this hotel a must consider.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

You walk into the hotel lobby and it looks neat and tidy- very nicely out lined. Once we arrived in our room the carpet is first thing i noticed. It was flithy- stains everywhere, walls had dings and scuffs all over- the furniture was all banged up. There were several small stains on the sheets on the bed, however it was very comfortable. The bathroom had a dirty musty smelling shower curtain, there were several hairs still surrounding the shower and a dirty bathmat was rolled up and sealed with a hair elastic. The bathroom smelt awful and the water pressure was awful. Clear instructions were not provided about where to park or that parking wasn't free either. Therer was also a very loud vibrating noise that would shake the whole room throughout the night and morning. Overall not very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were visiting Toronto to see a concert at the Molson Amphitheatre and didn't know it was located in Chinatown until we arrived. It's located inside the Chinatown Centre Mall which we had visited before but didn't realize they even had a hotel. The Super 8 was very nice and is in a great location if you're visiting Toronto. The room was very clean and had a mini fridge and microwave.
The bed was very comfortable as well. There is also free wi-fi. The alarm clock couldn't be set but everyone has cellphones now anyway so no big deal. The taxi from the hotel to the CNE was $12. There is underground parking located around the corner on Cameron St. for $5/day. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which is the lobby floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#97 of 139 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#86 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#70 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#98 of 139 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Toronto

Address: 222 Spadina Ave., Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown , China Town , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto Hotel Toronto
Super Eight Toronto
Toronto Super Eight
Toronto Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.