We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spot of heaven in Yorkville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hazelton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hazelton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Yorkville Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A spot of heaven in Yorkville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is what other hotels strive to be. From the friendliest staff (Terry deserves special mention) to an outstanding room, the Hazelton will meet every need you want. Add in the perfect location in Yorkville and you can't ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Steven B,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    29
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
34
110
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

THis is a great hotel. The staff was friendly upon arrival, walked us to our room, bellman were quick with luggage. THroughout stay the services, amenities of the hotel were welcomed. Love the bottled water at turndown. My only small complaint was it was our first time in Toronto and we had done some research but seemed to have issues getting the hotel staff to help with further suggesstions about enjoying the city or offering additional advice to our questions. THey seemed like they were only willing to point you in the right direction if you you knew were you wanted to go. I will say, The Chef concierge (Dean?) was excellent, but unfortunately was only there one day of the three we were. The front desk staff and rest of the conceirge need more service training in the area of helping leisure travelers make suggestions. The location of hotel was great, even though we found ourselves in South Toronto more often for events, dining etc I loved being able to walk around yorkville and shop. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear TrvlDir,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. However, please accept our apologies as it seems that you were dissatisfied with some of the services provided. Please be assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and it will be followed up accordingly.

Guest feedbacks are used as an important tool in our efforts to strive for continued improvement. Again, I do apologize and thank you for taking the time to address your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hazleton Hotel is fun for many families from all around the world. They have one of nicest hotel rooms that I have ever seen. They have the coolest pool and it is in door so you can swim at anytime. I have stayed at the Hazleton many times and we loved it so much that we got an apartment there. The Hazleton has beds that feel like clouds and when you get in them you fall right to sleep in 7 minutes at most. The breakfast in the morning tastes so amazing that you eat your whole plate and then feel full. This hotel has so much to offer and is a blast for any kind of person. After you go once you want to come back more and more times. They also have a movie theater where you can order food and popcorn and watch any movie you want to or enjoy. I hope to go to The Hazleton again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Jordan B,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here on a short stay in Toronto. Usually stayed at the old Four Seasons that was across the street but now being converted to condos I believe. Love the area in the quiet upscale Yorkville neighbourhood. Staff are very attentive and helpful. Room is great. Modern and well appointed. Bathroom with headed floors are large and luxurious. Breakfast was yummy. If you have a sweet tooth try the French toast. Overall would recommend it, only negative is the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear kdburns,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great hotel.

Stayed 2 nights in mid October.

Rooms - spacious, well finished and appointed.

Bed - exceptionally comfortable - one of the most comfortable beds/ pillow set-ups my wife and I have slept in across Europe/Australia/America.

Service -Warm and attentive but not intrusive. Excellent from the beginning. Didn't use the concierge, but he always said hello when I walked by.

Area - I've spent some time in Toronto and Yorkville is a great area to stay in. Compared to the other 5 star hotels closer to the bland financial district this hotel is better situated.

We did not have breakfast, or use the spa.

My wife and I will definitely make this our hotel when we return to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Terland,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Toronto, Hazelton Hotel ,in that order. Although we have only stayed here about three times it always feels like coming home. The staff are welcoming and efficient. My wife arrived earlier than expected and because our room wasn't ready the young lady from reception took her down to the spar to freshen up. Room service right on the money ,quick and elegant. The rooms are spacious and decorated in "sleepy browns " which creates the perfect nest to sleep in. Cozy warm ,elegant and best of all, quiet . Excuse me ,I need to go back to sleep.AAAAAh!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear acalicocat

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I spent five nights at the Hazelton and I am an older woman traveling alone. This has got to be the finest hotel I've ever been in, and I've been in some lovely five stars around Canada. The staff are genuinely friendly, eager to assist - top notch! I cannot fault this luxurious hotel. The bathroom is to die for - I spent quite a bit of time in the gigantic marble tub. Nice touches all around, love the controls for lighting and drapes at your fingertips, the bed was so comfortable that I got a good night's sleep, unusual for me in a hotel. As a ''water-holic'' it was nice to have an endless supply of free bottled water (as well as coffee, soda, coconut water, a variety of good teas - all free). Room service? no wait at all and delivered with an orchid in a glass bowl. Delicious!

Treat yourself - this is a hotel where you can relax and be utterly comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Maureen W,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Address: 118 Yorkville Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hazelton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.