We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant minimalism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hazelton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hazelton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Yorkville Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Elegant minimalism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly situated next to some of the most chic restaurants and stores in town. The rooms are palatial. Free wifi. Amazing bathrooms. Great restaurant and bar. First class gym. Hard to top!

Good example of the service standards for business travel: I needed a new pitch book printed and bound on very short notice. The hotel staff turned it around in minutes. I will surely return both for business and for fun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    29
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
103
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow, not much to say. The Hazelton just understand how to please their customers. Big rooms, very modern, clean as never seen before, comfy beds, great selection of pillows and REALLY good bathroom with good facilities.
I arrived early, around 6am. My room was ready, and first thing they said at the counter was "Welcome Mr. Skov-Jensen, it must have been a long flight, would you like a cold water?". It's a small things, but for me these things counts, A LOT.

I would absolutely go back. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. Location is unbeatable by the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hazelton hotel is is my favourite place to stay in Toronto. The rooms are BIG and luxurious, the food in the restaurant (Mark McEwan's "One") is off the hook and the atmosphere is A list. You feel as though you might run into a celebrity at any minute...and you might! But for me the most appealing thing about this great hotel is the helpful, courteous and knowledgeable staff. From front desk to doormen to housekeeping my interactions with everyone were great. I Highly recommend the Hazelton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Oliver G.

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

Kind regards,

Yurika Hinkle
Reservations Manager at The Hazelton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Beautiful architecture in the trendy Yorkville area for those that know Toronto. My brother and I made a pitstop there as we were riding motorcycles cross country and this was a great place to recharge. The rooms were large, soaked up the surroundings as we parked and just walked to all the places around for the most part since everything is close. The big thing though was the pool. After 400 miles and hours of grit although a shower is nice, that huge heated pool was amazing. Afterwards we hit the connecting restaurant which I believe was a blend of steakhouse and other amazing food. The bottom line was that it was "the" place to meet everyone, as it packed up quickly with the a huge outdoor patio. Service was great. #1 place in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel in mid November. We were doing some Christmas shopping and also had my 7 month old grandson with us.

The staff at this hotel are truely first class. Everyone was extremely helpful from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. When we arrived in the HUGE room, they had a crib made up for my grandson with baby bath amenities and a little toy for him. So thoughtful!

I especially enjoyed the huge soaker tub in the bathroom. Very relaxing after a long day on your feet...and to be able to watch tv while in the tub made it that much better.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel and I will personally always choose this hotel when in Toronto. It is in the perfect location, with spectacular rooms and an excellent restaurant. You cant ask for anything more!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Yorkville or Hazelton Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel does it right. Plain and simple. Superior service on all fronts. Adam at the front desk is a master of service and making you feel welcome.

Justin Bieber was there the same day as I and I felt just as important (minus the screaming teenagers out front).

Large rooms, spectacular bathrooms, great restaurant and bar, and superior location. This hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel that does not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My girlfirend and I stayed at the Hazelton this past weekend checking in November 30 and checked out on December 2. From the moment we checked in around 10pm, great service. We walked up to the front desk, and the Front Office Manager, greeted me by name, how she knew my name?? She had an associate personally take us to the room, gave us a tour. The room is large and well appointed. Spent time in the "One Lounge" owned and operated be renown Chef, Mark McEwan, great service, food and drinks. Room service breakfast Saturday was perfect - food well presented and tasty, excellent service. We worked out in the gym and met Justin Bieber and his Mom - now isn't that memorable!! The hotel is in the best location in Yorkville, walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. I have stayed at Windsor Arms, Four Seasons, Park Hyatt all in Yorkville - Hazelton has them beat hands down. We will stay there again on next trip to Toronto!! thanks, Brian and Janice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Address: 118 Yorkville Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , The Annex , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hazelton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.