We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Monument Beach, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived when the hotel was full but got friendly service, free wi-fi and nice breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Convenient to all downtown attractions - walked to Hockey Hall of Fame, Second City, CN tower. Pull out couch for son worked out great.

Room Tip: We didn't get our requested room location but 3rd floor was fine, just no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    346
    61
    14
    25
See reviews for
369
280
77
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great stay! Very friendly, helpful and efficient reception staff. Large rooms with kitchen, full size appliances with dishwasher.
Good quality, variety and quantity breakfast! Great location with selection of bars and restaurants in buzzing street round the corner. Definitely recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It's a residence inn, meaning hotel for business travels more like serviced apartments then hotel rooms. Great location, heart of downtown, I was on the 17th floor in a very spacious room. All the regular amenities you would expect from a Marriott chain. However- worst pillows I've ever slept on. OLD and small and smell of bleach. We exchanged them but the new ones were the same. The towels in the bathroom were old and falling apart (see photo). There is a nice clean gym, small but decent and pool, however the smell of chlorine is over powering.
The room itself had a weird smell, like someone spilled chicken soup on the carpet. Lastly, the view. See photo. A power plant. Room had one tiny window which when opened you could hear the buzzing of the plant all night long. Not enough to disrupt your sleep, but a disturbing idea nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portglenone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the CN Tower. We had a great sized room, enough space for the three of us. Complementary breakfast in the morning is also a bonus, whether it be cereal or a cooked breakfast, great start to the day!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In town for a wedding, otherwise we'd stay elsewhere in Toronto. Couldn't believe the high cost of hotel rooms for that weekend! Guess with the CNE and the Blue Jays in town, it was the best we could get.
Anyway, the room was gorgeous; more of an apartment than a hotel room complete with a full kitchen and lots of sitting space.
Very quiet despite being full.
Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, even at 4:30pm. We sat in the bar and had a drink and the very helpful bar tender went back to the front desk to find out if our room was finally ready so we could relax. Thanks for the kind service!
The breakfast was ok, not as good as the Courtyard Marriott on Yonge, but ok. Very very busy though and we felt crammed into the lounge, not relaxing.
We used the pool and hot tub, nice to have it to ourselves for a while.
Parking is very pricey, $40/day.
Staff as always, were courteous and helpful.
All in all, a nice visit but next time we're in TO we'll stay elsewhere, this hotel too pricey for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor so you don't have to wait for elevators. Be prepared for a busy, cramped br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by many things here. Stayed 4 nights, the price was pretty good for a hotel in a busy Toronto area and the location is PRIME. We walked almost everywhere or cabs were a small fare. I booked online and mentioned how many we had staying in our room so if they could make sure the sofa bed was good because we'd need to use it. Upon checking in, the staff member said he saw my request and gave us a room to accommodate our needs (and it did). We arrived on perogy night (bonus!) and that was a great start. Went to a couple of Jays games and it was a short walk. Also Air Canada Centre isn't far either. Along with the CN Tower, Harbourfront, Wayne Gretzky's restaurant, Kensington Market, Chinatown, etc. This is a perfect hotel for families, but I'd stay easily for business too. Honestly, our room didn't have a good view but that didn't concern me as we weren't sitting in the room much but it sounds like you can ask for that if you want it.

So here's the summary:

PROs: location, stuff included, well thought out organization within rooms, great service, knowledgeable staff, most things ran extremely smoothly like you'd expect in a higher priced hotel so great value. We really didn't use the kitchen much but if you are looking for one this one is really full.

CONs: It would have helped us to have the weekday breakfast offered later (until 10 maybe) and the breakfasts are popular, as many have noted, so we didn't eat there most days if we were too late or didn't want to wait

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Located in a very central area of Toronto, this hotel is far from fancy on the outside and lobby (basically there is no lobby). The rooms though are great, and so are the facilities (pool, fitness center). Overall not a bad stay at all, although we definitely payed for it. Elevator a bit old and very very slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.