We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This location is great if visiting the entertainment district of Toronto, Hotel has alot to offer and buffet breakfast was great! Rooms were clean and spacious and complimentary coffee in the room was very welcome.


Room Tip: We had a suite with king bed and pull out. The pull out mattress was not top rate but I had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    346
    62
    14
    25
See reviews for
370
280
78
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since it first opened 5 or 6 years ago. Besides being a great location the staff always made you feel welcome. In fact it was like my home away from home. The GM and her senior staff always made me feel special and that they valued my business. Recently there have been significant changes in the Management of the hotel and at least 3 of the senior management team are gone. I'm sure the remaining staff will do their best but with the heart of the hotel gone it won't be the same experience and I'm afraid for me that this means after all this time there I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at this recently built hotel about 5 times now. The best thing is the location which is just round the corner from the Blue Jays stadium and the underground shopping paths.
It is also very close to the West End where there are plays, films and restaurants.

The rooms are very comfortable, extremely well decorated with kitchen facilities. They are, however, a little bit quirky. For some reason the washbasin and mirror are located outside of the bathroom and by the side of the bed. The bathroom could easily have accommodated it in there because there is a load of spare space by the toilet. We were on the 20th floor and were grateful that there are sufficient lifts to take you to/from your room.

A free breakfast is on the ground floor to the left of the reception desk. It can get very busy in there and hectic so be warned. There is a good supply of cooked and cold, buffet food. The people on attendance are sometimes overly zealous, whipping plates and cups from you the moment they are empty.

Check in and check out is very efficient and there are always porters around to help you with your luggage.

Room Tip: You should be ok whichever room you select. It is one of the quitter streets in Toronto so noise won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 days while visiting Canada. The Hotel rooms are all suites so plenty of room to relax. Each suite area has a kitchen (with hobs, dishwasher, fridge/freezer with own ice making machine and all your pots, pans, plates etc), dining table, extremely comfy bed and reclining seat/chaise longue. Our room was number 411 which had a view of the CN Tower, which was a bonus. The location is great, based in the Entertainment District so near to loads of restaurants, bars and shops. Also close to the CN Tower and Waterfront which is a great place to eat/drink. Overall, would rate 5*'s and certainly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You can't ask for a better location for a 4star hotel than the heart of the city. Getting there was tricky with all the new condo construction, but was manageable. Given the amount of construction the noise was very minimal during the day, non-sexistant during the weekend.You are a 5 minute walk to the CN Tower and Rogers Centre (Skydome). The arts and Theatre's abound here and there is an abundance of live music in the bars and cafe's. You are also 5 minutes from Chinatown, St.Lawrence Market, and The Hockey Hall of Fame. Quick access to the QEW highway gets you to Niagara Falls in about 1 1/2 hrs.
The rooms come with kitchenette, but you will be delighted with your room. Spacious, well done and VERY comfortable King/ Queen beds. The staff is very pleasant and beyond helpful and the breakfast is well supplied and buffet style. Lots of food for all, including children.
Highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a weekend stay in Toronto. We stayed 3 nights and will be calling this hotel HOME on our next Toronto getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband had booked the Residence Inn to celebrate a special anniversary, but told me to go ahead and book a nicer hotel. I looked at Trump, Drake, Ritz Carlton, Intercontinental, etc. but decided to keep the Residence inn reservation.

The hotel is in the Entertainment district-so there are many restaurants in the area.
Check in: friendly, quick.
The room: we had a corner studio. Nicely furnished, large, comfy beds. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom is a bit small.
Manager's reception: The first night we stayed, there was a reception in the evening. Gyro meat, french fries, cans of soda.
Breakfast: The breakfast was better than expected. They had scrambled eggs (soft, not dried out), bacon, potatoes and peppers. The hotel was booked and the breakfast room was packed, but staff helped guide people to available seats.

This hotel is clearly well-managed. The staff were helpful, but not obsequious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Toronto for our first anniversary. It took me forever to find a hotel that would satisfy us- clean, room on a high floor with a city view, decent price, downtown location. After 4 days of reading the reviews I decided to call the Residence Inn.

Staff: RENEE from the front desk was absolutely fantastic and super friendly on the phone, assured that she will do everything she can to get us a room for such a special occasion (the hotel was almost booked out). She also answered all my questions regarding the hotel services, CN Tower features etc. So we could NOT wait to get there.

Room: When we arrived we met with RENEE and she had everything prepared for our check-in. We got a room 1910, a studio suite with an AMAZING VIEW of the city! It was mesmerizing! The suite was EXTREMELY clean, fully equipped: kitchen, fridge, dish washer, mugs, utensils, kitchen towels, dish soap, frying pans, pots etc- WOW! The bathroom was gorgeous and very modern! Our suite also had modern art decor, a huge king-size bed, TV with 70 channels etc.

Location: The hotel is conveniently located a block or 2 away from the CN Tower and the entertainment district. We loved it!

Services: The complimentary breakfast was great, the swimming pool is awesome, the water was warm! We spent 2 hours in it! The staff was bringing fresh towels every hour! We also checked out the gym- the equipment is great and not too crowded! Right next to the pool and gym they have a business station with 2 computers and a printer!

Bed: Our bed smelled really good and was soo comfy- we had the best sleep ever, so did NOT want to get up! Plus the view was soooo charming! Right from the bed!

Price: The price for our room was very good, including the fact that it's a downtown hotel with all conveniences, beautiful suites (with kitchens) and complimentary breakfast!

Overall: WE ARE VERY PLEASED! Thanks to RENEE (front desk), housekeeping, staff and cooks for making our anniversary so special! Will definitely recommend the hotel to everybody!

IMPORTANT: Call the front desk before booking online and discuss your stay, they will provide you ALL information you need! Toll-free (from the US as well): 1-800-960-6752. Photos are coming up soon!

Room Tip: IMPORTANT: Call the front desk before booking online and discuss your stay, they will provide you AL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.