We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Toronto Tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baldwin Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baldwin Village Inn
Save
You added Baldwin Village Inn to your Saves list
9 Baldwin Street, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1L1, Canada (China Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 122 Toronto B&B and Inns
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Terrific Toronto Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent 4 nights in the Sullivan Street shared house and 2 nights at the Baldwin Village Inn, both run by a very welcoming couple and their delightful daughter. Rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The bedroom in Baldwin lacked an ensuite and tv but that was not a big inconvenience for me, as a single person. Meals at Sullivan were self-catering. Complimentary breakfast at the Baldwin was an unexpected pleasure with cereals, eggs done to your choice, toast, cheese and coffee/ tea, in the company of the other guests who came from across North America, Europe and Asia. A few of the guests were regulars - very regular regulars - and that says much for the hospitality and ambience. Cleanliness and security are obviously very important to the hosts, and it is greatly appreciated. The location is ideal for the city center and in the immediate vicinity are restaurants of all types to satisfy hungry diners. I have no plans to visit Toronto again in the near future but if/when the opportunity arises the Baldwin Village Inn will be my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
16
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The tiny, unassuming front of the house belies the warm, homey interior you encounter once inside Baldwin Village Inn. The entire home is very clean, spacious and well maintained. The building itself is very secure and you get your own passcode to enter. Parking is at a nearby lot, which by Toronto standards is an affordable $20 for a day, and is enclosed so your car is safe from the elements and most harm.

The rooms themselves are comfortable, with a queen size bed, fresh linens and towels, a desk, your own tv, and we even had a couch. The shared bathrooms are nice and clean, although given how popular and large the B&B is with visiting professionals and professors it means that first thing in the morning there is a little bit of jockeying for the shower. But since everyone is friendly they do their shower shift quickly so that the next person can hop in. They also offer a huge selection of movies if you wanted to stay in and watch something in the common area, which is relaxed and comfy.

Tess and her husband are fantastic – very friendly hosts, and they have a lot of interesting people stay there at the B&B, including business men, doctors, researchers/professors, and even students for the universities, and of course travelers like ourselves. The breakfast conversations are therefore lively and interesting. The breakfast itself is great, they have bagels and breads with different spreads and cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, fresh coffee and juices (they had almond milk!!), and they will make you any egg dish that you want.

The location is fantastic, right in the heart of the city near Chinatown and a bunch of museums and universities, and the street itself is filled with Japanese and a few other Asian restaurants, cafes, and vegetarian friendly places. It’s a shame that we couldn’t stay longer - but that just means that we’ll have to come back to Toronto soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this pleasant, friendly B&B. Location is central, close to subway stop (5 minutes or less) and close to the AGO as well. Breakfast is included and consisted of eggs, various cheeses, toast etc. The room had a queen size bed which was comfortable and quiet and a sofa for sitting as well as a desk chair. WiFi is available.Room was somewhat hot overnight with the curtains closed but always an issue this time of year as it was warmish outside too but not hot enough for A/C. Hosts are friendly! The only negative would be the restriction on bathrooms and showers - only three toilets and two showers for 12 guests if they are full and, when we were there,someone decided on a long shower in the upstairs bathroom. (20 minutes) Otherwise highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Baldwin village inn was amazing. The location was awesome for getting to Kensignton Market, Chinatown, Queen St. West, City Hall, King st West, etc. - all the key downtown spots for exploring Toronto. The B&B was located on a quiet, safe street and surrounded by quaint shops, cafes, and restaurants. Really great street. The b&b also has an awesome backyard private garden patio - great in the summer time. There is also a second floor deck with chairs. Great hosts. Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was there for one night back in the middle of September 2012 and I have no complaints - I was nervous arriving as was travelling alone, but when I got there felt very comfortable. Rooms were very clean and bright, the breakfast really good and I had a lovely chat with the owners. Area was great, some lovely restaurants in the street - the Italian and the Mexican (cannot remember names) were really good. They were very happy with me leaving my luggage in front after I'd checked out and wanted to see Toronto. When I arrived in the evening waiting for my taxi for the airport, it was late, but the owners were great at getting one to turn up on time for me - very helpful. If I'm ever back in Toronto I will be staying there again! Thank you again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tess, Roger and Pia are great hosts.

Pro: great breakfast, simple, good variety continental, great position close to the hospitals, Kensington market. and china town. Easy walk to places. Meet some interesting people and can have a chat. about 10 restaurants within 30m walk of the front door. Quiet. Rooms good size, comfortable beds.

Con: have to share a bathroom as is a B&B (if this is something you care about). Otherwise no concerns.

Good place to have as a base, cheap and very accommodating. You get to meet some interesting people and have a good chat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our family from South Australia booked all the rooms for 9 nights in July whilst there for our son's wedding to a " local girl". It was fabulous on every level....large clean ,well set up bedrooms, tv lounge, beautiful al fresco area outside,large homely dining area for lengthy breakfasts.daily cleaning, an enormous selection of cafes and restaurants literally on the doorstep...even a laundromat 3 doors away.Tess, Roger,Pia and Holly were wonderful facilitators of this establishment.Wecertainly appreciated using the facilities one evening for a BBQ wIth the inlaws ( who we'd never met) as they lived about 45 mins away.also, we held a bridal High Tea one afternoon for about 20 females.it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baldwin Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin Village Inn

Address: 9 Baldwin Street, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > China Town , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the beautiful patio-restaurants of Baldwin Village, the Baldwin Village Inn is a bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of the best cultural,sports, shopping, cuisine and entertainment activities that Toronto can offer. Since opening in 2006, the Inn has been winning accolades. Featured by travel guidebooks Time Out as a Best Hotel, and by Lonely Planet. The Inn was recently chosen as a Top 10 Toronto Hotel by The Guardian U.K. newspaper. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baldwin Village Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baldwin Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.