We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding week at By the Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Park Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added By The Park Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AVAILABILITY/BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding week at By the Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the By the Park B&B! A beautiful home and Margo and Ziggy are excellent hosts. They offer plenty of assistance or privacy to suit your needs. Breakfast was always fresh and healthy - try the "Ziggy's Special" Omelet... Location was perfect - two train stations in easy walking distance. Several bars and restaurants nearby and for exercise, High Park is only a block away. For more ambitious walkers - we walked to Lake Ontario in 10-15 minutes. Overall, we could not have found a better place for our Toronto visit. I would recommend for anyone - especially if it is your first time to Toronto and concerned about the "big city". By the Park is a safe home away from home. Airport is approx. 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice but the loft is the largest and (we think) the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for wonderful review. It is a pleasure to have a great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    50
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
166
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our hosts clearly understood what it takes to make their guests happy and well feed, Ziggy and Margo helped with all travel concerns and made excellent suggestions for dining. This is a great location as a home base to see downtown activities; BMO sporting events, or just spending the day on Toronto's Islands. Subway is only a block away and the B&B is a block away from High Park too. Experienced travelers as well as Toronto first timers should take advantage of staying at this B&B. Our Victoria room was nicely furnished and equipped with a very modern private bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you-we are trying to be helpful and accommodating. Glad you enjoy our home and our city. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our third visit, and it was excellent, as always. Serene, well-tended gardens, comfortable rooms, and delightful hosts. The site is quiet, the bathrooms are large, and the location is perfect - across from the park, near the subway, and in walking distance of some very interesting neighborhoods. I'd live at this B&B if I could.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you- perfect review from a perfect guest. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The B&B is fantastic! It is comfortable, very close to the subway and High Park. It is very easy to reach downtown. The room was clean and nice. The style is modern and very fashionable. The kitchen is little but has all you need. Very close there are shops, convenience store, laundry.
It is very silent at night,
I liked very much the place !
Margot and Zieggy are very nice people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Silvana. It was great to have you and your daughter stay with us. Our conversations brought back the good memories of the time we lived in Italy. Hope you visit us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not much else to say that has not already been said in other reviews. Everything about this place is fantastic. It deserves the excellent rating and was a pleasure to stay here. Subway station is only a 5 minute walk which will take you to center city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks Jordan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the basement rooms in High Park Suites and it was perfect for us -- plenty of room, kitchen table right outside our door for our breakfast, and very quiet. The proximity to High Park was wonderful, as well as the subway station only a block away. We stayed in many other B&B's on this trip and this one was by far the best value for the price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Cathy for taking a moment or two to write this wonderful review. Our basement level bedrooms are very popular as they offer same comfort level as the upper level at a bit lower price.having High Park -the largest park in Toronto-just one street over is fatuous year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at By the Park at the end of June. I cannot say enough great things about it! We stayed in the High Park Suites (Maple room) which is right across the street from the main house. We were greeted immediately upon arrival by Margo and Ziggy and their adorable dogs. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We were shown to our room by Ziggy and had a spot to park the car. The room was clean and had a great updated bathroom. A window a/c unit was provided as well as a ceiling fan. The room also shared a kitchenette with the adjoining room next door. The location was PERFECT! Just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown, but the subway station is just outside. Also located near several coffee shops and bars. We loved By the Park and will definitely stay there on our next visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Megan-thank you for perfect review and a couple of great pictures. Pleasure is all our. Til next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast as well as short term rental in High Park, Roncesvalles Village and Liberty Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station from Indian Grove B&B/ High Park Suites /5 min. streetcar drive to Dundas West station from Toronto Guest Suites & short streetcar ride to financial and downtown center. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park Suites, Toronto Guest Suites & King West Suite are self catering accommodations. This two properties offer 1 and 2 bedroom self contained apartments as well as independent bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenettes. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Park Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.