We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Park Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added By The Park Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AVAILABILITY/BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 122 Toronto B&B and Inns
Ferndale, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at By the Park at the end of June. I cannot say enough great things about it! We stayed in the High Park Suites (Maple room) which is right across the street from the main house. We were greeted immediately upon arrival by Margo and Ziggy and their adorable dogs. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We were shown to our room by Ziggy and had a spot to park the car. The room was clean and had a great updated bathroom. A window a/c unit was provided as well as a ceiling fan. The room also shared a kitchenette with the adjoining room next door. The location was PERFECT! Just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown, but the subway station is just outside. Also located near several coffee shops and bars. We loved By the Park and will definitely stay there on our next visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Megan-thank you for perfect review and a couple of great pictures. Pleasure is all our. Til next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    47
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
81
160
58
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

High Park Suites gets top marks. The owners have done a fabulous job of upgrading and enhancing their property from Garden to Bathroom. Semi-private kitchenettes attached to rooms are a bonus. Love the top floor room in the trees. Only issue for consideration is traffic noise from nearby Bloor Street: you’re in the city, don't forget ear plugs!

Room Tip: Walnut Room top floor in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you. Our self catering bedrooms and suites are very popular. Street noise- well, can not get way from it in such a large city- luckily we are on the small residential street-that helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently spent three nights in the Magnolia room. The room, bathroom and shared kitchen were all clean and well-kept, and the wifi performed terrifically. Our only suggestions would be better sleeping pillows and more lighting in the bedroom (there wasn't even a bulb in the closet fixture). Other than that, we had a lovely experience as the b&b is located two quick blocks from the Keele subway station, so very convenient to downtown. Also, Roncesvalles St. is a short drive for coffee in the morning. All in all, a cost-effective and above-par experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When looking for accommodation close to our daughter's home, we were pleasantly surprised to find this jewel of a B & B. Our room had a cozy kitchen attached although we did not take advantage of this, choosing to dine out in the lovely neighborhood.
We plan to stay here again - it felt like home!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia - king size bed, on the quiet side of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at this B and B. It is in a delightful residential neighbourhood, close to the subway; making it minutes from downtown Toronto. This B and B is charming; tastefully decorated; immaculately maintained and quite comfortable. Our rooms were very quiet and comfortable and despite the warm weather and no AC; sleeping was easy with the fans provided in each room.
The breakfasts were very good. We are not vegetarians but the vegetarian breakfasts were delicious and quite substantial. Fresh fruit, omelettes or pancakes and freshly baked muffins each morning were a great start to the day. Our hosts Margo and Ziggy were most willing to help in any way they could; directions, advice and ordering me an airport shuttle when my arrangements to get to the airport fell through at the last minute. If you stay here you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our rooms on the second floor of the main guesthouse were delightful with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at their townhouse which is located in Liberty Village. The townhouse has 2 levels with full kitchen, futon in living room and queen bed in upstairs bedroom. We parked in the garage and didn't use our car the whole time we were there. The bus runs nearby on King Street so it was easy to hop on it to go downtown. There is a bank with an ATM nearby (for those needing Canadian money) and a convenience store to buy bus passes (they had a weekend deal for families). There is a supermarket not too far away. The townhouse is close to the train tracks, but they did not bother us. The futon was firm, while the bed upstairs had a soft foam topper. The owner met us at the townhouse when we arrived and was only a phone call away if we needed anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There was no pomp and circumstance from the hosts when we arrived at By the Park, but it turns out they spend more energy tending to the needs of the guests than gratuitous, showy welcoming parties.

Clean premises despite animals of feline and canine breed, who live in the house. Quiet pets too that never ascended beyond the main level common areas--you would've never known they were there unless you sought them out. (You should.)

The breakfast was well done with good variety. Daily fresh fruit cups were accompanied by off-the-griddle blueberry cottage cheese pancakes, various omelets and sugar dusted French toast.

Aside from being good in the kitchen, the hosts were also very worldly and great for conversation --- about Toronto, its attractions and beyond.

By the Park is immediately near High Park just outside downtown Toronto with foot access to the urban bustle-bound city streets for all sightseeing. Easy on/off from the highway and not too far from the scenic Lake Ontario waterfront as well, if you're down for a run or walk along the waves.

Note: be prepared to leave your shoes at the door...and likely your car keys too, as the hosts may need to do some vehicle juggling in the slim driveway for guest parking.

Room Tip: The Garden View room is very spacious and full of light, with two walls of windows. This came with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast as well as short term rental in High Park, Roncesvalles Village and Liberty Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station from Indian Grove B&B/ High Park Suites /5 min. streetcar drive to Dundas West station from Toronto Guest Suites & short streetcar ride to financial and downtown center. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park Suites, Toronto Guest Suites & King West Suite are self catering accommodations. This two properties offer 1 and 2 bedroom self contained apartments as well as independent bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenettes. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Park Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.