We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review "By the Park"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Park Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added By The Park Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AVAILABILITY/BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Review "By the Park"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference in downtown Toronto. A 10 minute walk to the Subway worked out very well. The rooms were clean and neat. Everything was very fine. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    50
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
166
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April to do a running race in High Park. The location was fantastic for us because we were right next to the park. The property is also within a few walking minutes to the subway station. When we arrived Ziggy showed us around and through the property. Parking was provided on the property (and included in the price), which is great for Toronto. We stayed in the Magnolia Room on the second floor. We chose not to do the breakfast option because of the race, which worked out perfectly since a fridge is provided in the room and there is a shared kitchen with all of the appliances/utensils you need to make your own breakfast. An added bonus for us was that the kitchen is shared and since our friends had the room next to us, we had the opportunity to meet in the kitchen and eat with them. The bed was huge, high and comfortable. There was plenty of closet space and storage for all of our items which allowed us to be tidy and organized. Lastly, from the bedroom there is a mini-hall that steps down to the kitchen and washroom. The washroom is very spacious with a sink, toilet and shower stall. We enjoyed our stay and have already booked another two night stay this summer with the same friends again. We definitely recommend By The Park Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This review is so long overdue! We stayed here last summer - one night actually in the b&b in the super huge and luxurious Loft Suite (Wow!!) and then a full week in one of their apartments in the Roncesvalles neighborhood.

**Location: both the b&b and the apartment are in fantastic locations. Roncesvalles is such a fun area - great restaurants, close to the park, just fabulous. It is also extremely convenient to public transit - particularly the apartment which has a trolley stop almost right in front of it. We spent a week exploring Toronto and I never found an area I liked better. If I ever return to Toronto I will absolutely stay in this area again and again.

**Customer Service: Margo and Ziggy are a super serene and kind couple. We had a major flight snafu and (oddly) had to fly in a night earlier than expected (long story!) and they totally accommodated us by letting us stay in the Loft Suite while the apartment was being prepared for our expected arrival. We arrived pretty late at night, but they still welcomed us kindly. I can't tell you the relief it was to arrive there after a long and very stressful day of travel. Once we finally checked into the apartment we didn't see them much (which is to be expected of a vacation rental), but they were always super responsive when we had any questions.

**Rooms/Facilities: The b&b is truly stunning, but as we spent most of our time at the apartment I'll focus on that. The rooms were all very nicely updated and appointed (the bathroom in particular was done very well!) Both bedrooms had window a/c units which were sorely needed as the temps were brutally hot during our visit. My daughter slept in the front room which faces the street. I'm not sure if street noise is a problem up there since she sleeps like the dead no matter what, but it is something to consider for light sleepers. My only minor complaint is that the layout was a bit awkward with the kitchen being downstairs and there being no living room for us all to hang out together in the evenings. But we made do and it was just fine. I like that there was a full size fridge in the kitchen as you don't often find that in big city vacation rentals. It would have been great to have a washer/dryer, but there are Laundromats nearby.

**The bottom line: If you're looking for a comfortable apartment in a fabulous neighborhood with access to all that Toronto has to offer look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just what we wanted for 5 days in Toronto - the B & B is a fairly short drive from the airport, close to the Expressway for travelling to Niagara, and only a few minutes walk to Keele subway for easy access to the city sights. Also in in great little neighbourhood for a beer and bite to eat in the evening. But I saved the best bit until last. The B & B is just lovely - beautifully decorated and maintained and the hosts (Margo and Ziggy) couldn't have been more delightful and helpful.

Room Tip: The garden view room is large and bright and has a lovely outlook over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

i love coming back to by the park. it is consistent, well-managed and easy...never any issues or problems. the room decor is topnotch. the rooms are enjoyable and comfortable. upgrade to flat screen tv is appreciated. quiet guests and friendly hosts. it is a so much better than a hotel in toronto. it is like coming back to your own home each night. great location and easy parking on site. i have stayed at both locations and both offer large rooms and comfy beds.

Room Tip: depends if you want to enjoy the delicious breakfast in the main house or cater yourself in the self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very convenient to be on not only the Bloor subway, but also a short walk to three street car lines (King, Dundas and College) and street cars are a much better way to visit Toronto if you have time. It's also nice to be next to High Park. On Sunday, we walked through the High Park Zoo and caught the Queen street car. By The Park is also near many nice places to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very friendly service and a very clean room. The location near High Park is great, and it's close to all amenities of Bloor West village.
Only negative was that the rooms/building were pretty cold and the thermostat was locked. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast as well as short term rental in High Park, Roncesvalles Village and Liberty Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station from Indian Grove B&B/ High Park Suites /5 min. streetcar drive to Dundas West station from Toronto Guest Suites & short streetcar ride to financial and downtown center. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park Suites, Toronto Guest Suites & King West Suite are self catering accommodations. This two properties offer 1 and 2 bedroom self contained apartments as well as independent bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenettes. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Park Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.