We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of By The Park Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added By The Park Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AVAILABILITY/BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WELLINGTON, oNT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We recently moved from Toronto to the country but like to return often to our old neighbourhood; sometimes even weekly. We are very lucky that Ziggy and Margot maintain such lovely accomodation in such a great location. The subway is a short block away and there are numerous inexpensive restaurants as well. They make every effort to communicate efficiently and accomodate our special needs, such as forgetting things!

Room Tip: We stay in the suites and they are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    50
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
166
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Had a great time in Toronto in February at By The Park Bed and Breakfast! Warm and inviting decor along with friendly hosts Margo and Ziggy! Quiet, cozy and relaxing! Great Breakfast! Margo makes the best muffins and Ziggy can whip up a great omelet! Thanks for making Kat and myself feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharbot lake
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The rooms are quiet and tastefully appointed. The king-size bed in the Walnut Suite is superbly comfortable, and the kitchenettes are well-equipped. All this, and parking too!

Room Tip: Check photos to locate reading lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at By the Park frequently this past winter when I attended art classes in the area.
I found this establishement to be of very high quality and would recommend it to anyone. I mostly stayed in the self sufficient units, Iris and Daisy; the beds were comfortable, the rooms spotlessly clean and the the bathrooms were roomy and well equipped.
Margo and Ziggy are friendly, attentive hosts; their fine taste for lovely things is evident in the rooms and common areas of their two buildings.
The locaton of this bed ad breakfast is ideal for accessing either the High Park or Junction areas and of course its very convenient location with respect to the subway makes it an ideal location for accessing downtown Toronto.
I felt By the Park was good value for my money spent and plan to stay there again sould I need to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I've been going to By the Park for about three years now and I always stay there when I'm in Toronto. It's near to my brother's place and so convenient. There is always safe parking which is difficult to find in TO. I especially love the friendship I've developed with Margo and Ziggy - they are no longer the landlords/owners but my friends. If you're looking for a clean, well-maintainted, cozy, quiet place, this is the place for you. You'll not regret it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I have stayed several times at By the Park. I call it By the Park BYOB - 'Bring My Own Breakfast' because I stay in one of the units with a private bath and access to a shared kitchen. The suites I have stayed in are very clean and comfortable and the location is very convenient for me as I have family nearby. The subway is close so I can hop on and enjoy Toronto when I'm not with my family. I love the Roncevalles area - restaurants, coffee places, an excellent if ancient movie theatre and book stores. Highly recommended for independent travellers! Margot and Ziggy helpful.
Elspeth Richmond

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We loved this place - very clean, great beds, easy parking and great location. We stayed here because our family lives nearby and doesn't have room for guests. It provided a great getaway from the chaos of family at Christmas. It was so clean we didn't have the allergy problems that we usually have in most hotels. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast as well as short term rental in High Park, Roncesvalles Village and Liberty Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station from Indian Grove B&B/ High Park Suites /5 min. streetcar drive to Dundas West station from Toronto Guest Suites & short streetcar ride to financial and downtown center. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park Suites, Toronto Guest Suites & King West Suite are self catering accommodations. This two properties offer 1 and 2 bedroom self contained apartments as well as independent bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and shared kitchenettes. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Park Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.