We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...."interesting" rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gladstone Hotel to your Saves list
Gladstone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel...."interesting" rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I was looking for a last-minute place to stay on the tail end of a business trip. I wanted to try something different in downtown Toronto, and the Gladstone caught my eye on this site. Although is was a little more away from the heart of downtown than I would have liked, it was a beautiful building with a great staff. I had the "biker" room....although small, it was still nice--and quiet. It made me want to go knocking on other guest's doors to see what the other rooms looked like. I especially loved the parlor-like design outside of the rooms. My only complaint was that the hotel bar closed very early (11PM) the night I was there :-(

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    160
    34
    15
    14
See reviews for
31
223
41
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Gladstone is one of my favorite places to stay in Toronto. The rooms are uniquely designed, and the staff is extremely helpful. If you're looking for a good night's sleep, make sure you reserve a room on a high floor and, if possible, facing the back or side. It can get quite loud on the sidewalks outside.

Other than that small issue, The Gladstone is a wonderful place to stay, full of character & charm.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I am a photographer that has used the artist designed rooms for a couple of shoots, and yesterdays was in the Best Suite. Absolutely lives up to the name! Service as always was excellent. This time I got to spend the night and enjoy to enjoy breakfast there as well, and now, I love it even more! :)
If you are visiting Toronto, or need a night away, this is where you NEED to go!
:)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The T.dot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I get one weekend a year where we leave our kids with my in-laws and get away for a staycation right in our home town. For the first couple of years, we'd stay in the chain hotels but we'd always been curious about the grand old hotel called the Gladstone that we walked by many times a week. Then in 2006, we booked ourselves in for a weekend and we've been coming back at least once a year ever since.
While we've tried a couple of the artist-designed rooms, our favourite is "The Racine Room", a warmly decorated 4th floor retreat with lots of charm.
The hotel is at the hub of a bunch of nightspots, including right downstairs, it has a great restaurant or you can step out to sample the eclectic fare that Queen St. West has to offer.
If you like shopping, you jump on a streetcar and you're in the trendy Queen Street West shopping district in a few minutes, or you can stroll your way over, taking in the galleries and shops in between.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the place has oodles of charm.

Downside:
- noise - it's noisy outside from the streetcars and late night hullabaloo. But if you don't like noise, don't vacation in a big city, I figure. The room comes with two sets of earplugs though, just in case

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We were in Ontario to do a whirlwind trip --- 5 different beds/hotels within a week. After starting our trip at the Gladstone, I wished I did not have to leave. It was the only time I have stayed at a hotel where it felt like a home...only this home had art galleries, was in the perfect location for art/design/shopping/seeing friends/eating and had the most helpful and friendly staff. We will definatly be returning on our annual visit to Ontario.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed in room 412 was clean and very bright. Everything worked out fine other than the pigeons on the ledge that started aroudn 5 in the morning. Was pretty tired so quite annoying.

If you need rest quite a loud urban setting to say the least.

The overall hotel is great for functions and the bar downstairs is a nice place for breakfast and a pint.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Fabulous hotel--great location, tiny but accomodating rooms, and fabulous food. Only bad part? Local artist-crafted toiletries. Long hair and a "shampoo bar" do not go well together. Pack your own toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Toronto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favorite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travelers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room... We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more... Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.