We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Toronto Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gladstone Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Toronto Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I went on a 5 day road trip and stayed 2 nights at the Gladstone Hotel which we found through the NY Times "36 Hours in Toronto" It is a charming boutique hotel in a neighborhood that we would never have found if not for that article. The staff was extremely helpful, the walls are filled with art work, and the bed was heaven. Great air conditioning on a hot summer day. The hotel has bars and restaurants but we did not try them as I had a whole list of places to go. We would highly recommend this hotel for people who would like some adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    148
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
26
209
41
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absolutely delightful time this weekend at the Gladstone with friends. We reviewed rooms online and each picked out a unique and beautifully decorated abode. The staff was extremely helpful with our bags when we arrived (parking was in a public lot down the street). We were early and got helpful directions to a nearby restaurant for lunch. Check in was smooth and our bags were taken up via the old fashioned elevator. This hotel has many great touches -- art work everywhere, a living "plant" wall, lounges on each floor with coffee in the morning -- and a great mix of charm and cool. Our room was on the 4th floor, near the lounge. It was lovely. Smallish by other hotel standards but more than made up by the visuals, efficient use of space, and quality of bedding and the black out curtains. Each room had a tablet that served as an "online" concierge by which we plotted our travels and activities, a flat screen, ample storage, and a "dry basket" of snacks (reasonably priced). The shower would be a tight fit for some. We had drinks in the small bar one afternoon and breakfast in the same room/cafe in the morning. Lattes can be delivered to your room too -- for a price that is just fine if you want a truly great cup of coffee to start the day (which I did). The breakfast is worth mentioning -- great menu, high quality, delicious and reasonably priced. We tried a number of the items and none disappointed. There were two weddings during our stay and lots of excitement. We were well taken care of nevertheless, and enjoyed seeing the brides and their parties. The booming music from the larger bar was not heard from our 4th floor room. Check out was smooth and courteous. Loved it. We had a great time and definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online to chose your style. Note the sq. footage and size of bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was here last year for an art show with my girlfriend. We had a lot of friends staying in the hotel at the same time so we were able to bounce around and check out all the different styles of the rooms. Awesome. The elevator is also one of the coolest I have experienced yet. Bar was OK but expensive. Check in was slow but there was a big group of us. The location kind of sucks, and I was woken up by the construction next door at 7 AM on Sunday morning with a hangover from our art party, so that was the only real downside but not the hotels fault at all. The rooms are definitely the best part, each one is unique. Ours had a Victorian grandma's cottage kind of theme to it, very cool. I would especially recommend this hotel for creative people, artists, or people who just enjoy unique hotels as the differences in rooms are so very awesome. Check out their website before booking and try to pick your favorite one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Charming vintage building, a hotel brilliantly refurbished, clean, cozy and great food.

The staff was SUPER nice and SUPER courteous. Couldn't ask for better.

Loved the old style elevator that is hand cranked by the staff.

Enjoyed a great breakfast the next day and the bar is a fun place at night for a drink with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Gladstone is an interesting arts hotel in a neighborhood bustling with cafes, restaurants, and shops. Just around the corner, there is a terrific grocery store, Fresh, if you want to buy fresh fruit and veggies. Each of the rooms is individually decorated by an artist, so there are no two rooms alike. The rooms are on the small side, but the ambience makes up for the lack of space, especially for a short trip. The rooms have tablets in the room as well as a wireless and wired connection. There is no coffee maker in the room, but on the lounges, they have coffee and tea served every morning. I only ate a few times at the bar downstairs, because they did not have much to offer for dairy-free diets. The couple of times I did eat there, the portions were beautiful but rather small and pricey. A ten-minute walk away, there is a terrific vegetarian restaurant called Fresh (just like the grocery store), which is excellent, but busy, so you might have to wait a while to be seated. I really loved the staff at the hotel: everybody at the receptions was super-nice, as were the porters taking you up and down the elevator. I had a discounted price through an event, so I can't really speak to the price, but overall can recommend it, especially for shorter stays.

Room Tip: The hotel gives you vouchers to go to a nearby fitness center, which in my case never happened becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gladstone while in Toronto for a couple of nights and to see a concert and were greeted by a very helpful and friendly staff member whom did much to make us feel comfortable. The scene is a loud one though so be prepared, both on the eyes and the ears, but it was so much fun. There is a lounge attached with music and there are many places nearby. The room was definitely on the smaller side, but was bright and modern with some cool little twists.
Affordable for the atmosphere provided.

Room Tip: check the net at the pics and book them early, because they go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked the Echame Flores for our wedding night, which was a gorgeous little room with rich red wallpaper and a mock fireplace with a tv instead of an actual fire pit. We thought it would be fairly noisy but it was actually quite quiet and peaceful! We checked in pretty late at night, but the concierge was just as friendly and helpful. When he saw us in our wedding attire, he immediately offered us complementary brunch at the Gladstone Cafe, which was very sweet!

After eating our AMAZING breakfast and checking out, we realized it was absolutely pouring rain and we didn't have umbrellas. Before we could even think to ask, Calvin — the front desk concierge — immediately offered us umbrellas to borrow. Even after we had checked out he was fully ready and willing to serve us as if we were still paying to stay there. In my experience, most concierge want nothing to do with you after you've paid, so this was extremely surprising in an awesome way! We ended up walking down the street to Shopper's to buy our own so we could return the ones Calvin leant us, but it was very kind and thoughtful of him!

Overall we'd absolutely recommend staying here. Not only for the gorgeous and unique rooms, the awesome food and atmosphere, but also for the very kind and thoughtful staff who were an absolute pleasure to deal with!

Room Tip: Every room is designed differently, but still includes the same amenities! We've found the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favorite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travelers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room... We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more... Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.