We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One King West Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One King West Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
One King West Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Great location. Great price. Great hotel.

Our suite had its own washer and dryer units! pretty impressive.

Beautiful lobby and lots of history (with a roof top hot tub and sauna!)

My only criticism would be that the restaurant wasn't very big - but there are so many places just steps away that it's not a big deal.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    463
    177
    94
    64
See reviews for
138
539
125
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

When I arrived there was a noisy air mover in my room. It seems the carpet was wet and they took it out without checking, so the carpet stayed wet. There was a dishwasher but no soap, dishcloth or tea towel, which is probably why the cutlery and many of the dished in the cupboard were less than clean.
It seems they have some rooms with baths and others with showers. I was not asked if I had a preference and ended up with just a shower. On the first morning I went to use a face cloth and it had mascara on it. I left it and the other cloth on the shower floor and they were taken away, but not replaced!
The last disappointment was when I checked out and left my suitcase with the bell man. When I came to collect it, they took the claim ticket and handed me another person's suitcase. This is supposed to be a great hotel, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

From the moment we were met by the smiling valet, we could tell that we were very important guests. Smiling, happy, hospitable staff met us at the valet parking, front desk and the breakfast bistro.Even the staff wandering the halls had time to say good morning. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have slept on.
We chose the Stay, Play and Park package that included valet parking, breakfast for 2 and a beautiful suite on the 9th floor.
The room was welll equipped with a fridge, microwave, hot plate, washer and dryer.
The fitness room on the 17th floor had an amazing view of Lake Ontario and an outside balcony to enjoy the fresh air.
Take the time to tour this beautiful piece of architecture
We were in the middle of all of the action in Toronto! This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is a great hotel. The rooms are big and quiet. Higher floor rooms have fantastic views. The beds are extremely comfortable - very conducive to a fantastic night's sleep. The breakfast buffet is good, but as always, expensive. There is a good breakfast spot directly across the road (from the valet parking).

There is a gym which is pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Very nice rooms. Incredible in-room laundry. Only negatives about the room was the shower, and no high-def TV. The room-service menu showed a nice breakfast menu, but the only breakfast available was a reasonable buffet downstairs. No wireless internet. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I spent 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting Toronto. This hotel is right in the heart of the financial district. The rooms are wonderful - much more spacious than comparable hotels in the US. It has all the necessary facilities but nothing that jumps out at you as different or unique to this hotel. It meets your expectations and is good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

considering it's a fairly expensive place to stay, did not get the service for the money's worth. I stayed for 7 nights they never changed the bed sheets, phone was broken almost the whole time could not call for room service when needed. Did not have the coffee maker until the 3rd day... I paid for my room ahead of time but they didn't bother to let me know that they were taking out extra $100/per night for security..... i was traveling from US so i was depending on my credit card..... i had to check my bank statement to find out. I thought one king service was inconsiderate and they did not pay attention to our needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One King West Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One King West Hotel & Residence

Address: 1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
#36 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — One King West Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your One King West Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One King West Hotel And Residence
1 King West Hotel & Residence
One King West Toronto
Suites Toronto
King Suites Toronto
One King West Hotel Residence
Suites 1 King West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One King West Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.