We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One King West Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One King West Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
One King West Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

In short cant find anything to fault the Suites on. From the minute we entered the hotel it was plain sailing. Reception check in was quick and efficient, hotel itself is spotless (as expected) and the rooms are extremely well appointed. We had a studio suite, included full kitchenette as per hotel website, and the best air con sytem a great bonus for the humid summer weather.

ALL staff were very helpful, friendly and its location, right in the middle of the financial district, is a stones throw from the CN Tower/Rogers Centre etc. But its the little things that made this hotel a great find. We checked in the night before a birthday celebration, and ordered special breakfast for the next morning. this was duly delivered, with choc strawberrys!, and a note wishing Happy Birthday and breakfast was with compliments! It was a very nice touch and this sort of gesture goes a long way. The hotel also as a great car service, Bentley, Rolls Royce, Cadillacs for guests use local..another little nice touch.

All in all we had a great time in Toronto, and would highly recommend the Suites, and indeed would definately stay there again. Ask for suite on the higher floor if possible..great views.!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    463
    177
    94
    64
See reviews for
138
539
125
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We just returned home after spending 3 nights at the Suites at 1 King West in Toronto. The rooms were great and the feature of having a washer and dryer in each room is very unique. We were pampered from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Our only regret is we only stayed 3 nights. Toronto is a fun city and we felt very safe walking around in the downtown area at night. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Toronto!

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Washer and dryer in each room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

We reserved 2 rooms at the bargain price of $CAN 129 per room per night thru a travel agent. We requested that 1 room have twin beds so the teenagers didn't have to share. Before arriving, I found out that the smaller rooms only have 1 King bed and no room for a rollaway. After e-mailing the hotel, they gratiously upgraded a room to include a foldout couch at no charge.

Check-in took away, perhaps because of the prearranged upgrade. Rooms were nice, 8th floor, but in the old building with no view. Great location, near food, shopping, banking, subway.

Some exterior and interior construction detracts from the building apperance but doesn't effect any functional areas.

Arranged for a comp. hotel limo (Bentley) ride to the CN tower for dinner. Worked great. The driver offered to return to pick us up, but it was a nice night and we just walked back.

More desk confusion at checkout. We asked ahead of time to keep one room for a late checkout and they agreed. Message never made it intact to housekeeping and supervisor staff as they alternately tried to clean the rooms thinking we were staying another night or knocking asking us when we were leaving. But nice and courteous every time.

We'd stay again, especially after construction is done and if a great rate is available.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Still under construction
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice of hotel.

Positive points:

. The rooms were large, modern and clean.
. The lobby was busy
. The gym was nice for a hotel
. Complimentaty limousine service a nice touch
. Good location, near to Eaton Centre, Financial & Entertainment Districts and Esplanade

Negative points:

. Check in staff were rude
. Concierge were unhelpful and lacked basic knowledge of the city (except for Miles the concierge manager who met on our last day - he was exceptionally good).

All in all we were very pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

My college age daughter and I took a mother/daughter long weekend (July 26-30, 2006) In Toronto and after much research, I decided we'd stay at the Suites at 1 King West. It was a good decision--the hotel is totally non-smoking, is in downtown Toronto, sits right on top of the King Street subway station, and is in a renovated, 44 story bank building. The views are spectacular, the fitness center is excellent and free to guests, everything was spotlessly clean and the maid service was efficient and well-done. We checked in quite late on the first night due to our late plane arrival and I jokingly mentioned that I was not sure how well my daughter and I would sleep together even in a king-size bed. The night manager immediately offered to upgrade our room to a one-bedroom suite with the hotel's compliments. Of course, we took him up on his offer and we stayed in a 37th floor suite with two rooms. We each had our own bed, mini kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, sink, washer, dryer and dishwasher plus utensils, china, glasses, etc. It was very comfortable, the beds and pillows were great. Even though there were other guests in the rooms on our hallway, it was totally quiet and we were never disturbed by outside noise from the halls or adjoining rooms. The hotel maintains a collection of vintage cars and if you request it, they will transport you at no cost to places in the downtown area. The drivers do appreciate gratuities, however. One night we were taken to the theater in a Bentley. Local calls and 800 calls are free from room phones and internet connections are also provided. You never have to go outside to reach the subway, but only have to walk down the marble staircase in the lobby, past the bank's original vault and take the hallway that leads to the subway. The hallway takes you right into the PATH system which is Toronto's 17 miles of underground shopping and services. Overall an excellent hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

I would give it a little more than 3.5 stars but not 4. Maybe I didn't like the room layout. I didn't feel that it was as functional as it was nice. I stayed with my husband and it felt dimly lit and the bathroom was really small. There's also no hooks to hang up towels and no shelving in the shower to put your shampoo and stuff on. We ordered internet service (their corporate package) but couldn't find the internet cable. We called the front desk and they told us where it should be...we still couldn't find it. They sent someone to help and he said that the room didn't have one...oh well...but he said that we could probably request to switch rooms. We only stayed 2 nights so we didn't bother. It is very conveniently located...but I would probably choose the Soho Metropolitan next time. Also...the limo service is limited...we wanted to get to a friend's place downtown and it's a 5-minute drive but it was outside of the limo's desination areas...so we didn't get to use that service. Also, you have to book it in advance. I read that some people were offered the service when they asked how to get somewhere...we wanted to go for some dimsum and they got us cab.

  • Liked — Location, Amenities, Clealiness
  • Disliked — Room size/layout, bathroom
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

The Suites at 1 King West are in a perfect location for doing Toronto by foot. Close to all the main tourist attractions and shopping, there is something for everyone. Of course, you do have to walk, and yes you will be tired!

The rooms were very clean, equiped with everthing we needed. The fridge is the best! Washer, Dryer, Microwave, DVD, TV.... you could live here if you wanted!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The vintage cars are brill, we got a ride, must be booked in advance though.

Didn't bother checking out the pool, can't swim! We were on the 20th floor and the view was brilliant. Wouldn't be too bothered with the windows that opened, because there was too much noise outsidewhen opened!

I believe you will not get anything as good as here. We stayed a week and even on the last day we were still finding new shops etc. The "PATH" system is unbelieveable, an underground maze of shops & restaurants can be accessed from the basement of the hotel (follow the steps down toward the old vault!

To sum it up, extreme value for money at $129 per night!

  • Liked — comfy bed & location
  • Disliked — the cost of a beer!
  • Tips/Secrets — book early, arrive early for a better / higher room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One King West Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One King West Hotel & Residence

Address: 1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
#36 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — One King West Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your One King West Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One King West Hotel And Residence
1 King West Hotel & Residence
One King West Toronto
Suites Toronto
King Suites Toronto
One King West Hotel Residence
Suites 1 King West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One King West Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.