We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One King West Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added One King West Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
One King West Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
egangirl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute consolation as my other hotel was fully booked for the extra night I needed. I was greeted straight away and the bell hop quickly assisted me with my luggage. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well furnished and the bedding was excellent. I had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    520
    197
    99
    69
See reviews for
155
613
133
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

In a great location with easy access to the whole city with the metro just seconds away and some of the best attractions, views, sights and restaurants so close. I had lovely views over the Islands from my room on the 38th floor which were beautiful. Only downside to this hotel is that it is a little tired and dated, in terms of room decor, in-room technology and furnishings. That said it was clean and the staff on the whole very helpful. I stayed for 35 nights and the self contained suite made it a much more comfortable experience than it could have been in a standard room without all the 'home comfort' facilities . . . It's great to be able to do your washing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Every year, for a week, a crew of 9-11 members of my company show up to this hotel for a large conference in the Toronto area. As a group who does not need a parking spot (its one negative), we find this hotel perfect for our needs.

The Superior suite has a very comfortable bed, beautiful views (I always face the CN Tower), laundry and small kitchenette. Although not the newest technology on the market the room has a ton of space and all the amenities one travelling for work could handle.

Another great bonus is the reception/lounger area. Very convenient (could even be bigger) for a small group to have social drinks with other associates.

I will stay again 2014 and know my stay will be comfortable and without complication.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel entrance is hidden. Not on the main street (King st.). Valet get full daily, if you want a spot have to check in earlier. Lobby is ok. Got a corner king room. Room include fridge, toaster, coffeemaker, washer and dryer and dishwasher which I am happy with. Other then that, carpets seems really dirty, bathroom very weird design and small. I'm a very small person and I found really hard to access. Don't know how a normal person can mive around it there. A/C Fan blowing air directly on top of your bed = right on hour face. TV Remote control so dirty, need to clean it right before I can turn on the tv. Yes, it's a very old tv but it works just fine.
The one main problem I had was the bathroom fan. I realize there's brown drops of dirty waters on top of the toilet after shower. I keep thinking how did it happen. Finally realize it came from the fan right above the toilet by the moisture in the air from the shower. So gross, but it shouldn't happen if you don't take a long hot shower like me. Overall hotel building is historical, but needs a lot more work to keep the room up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear stawberies,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at One King West.

I must say that I am extremely disappointed to hear that the quality of our rooms did not meet your standards. One King West has become one of the leading hotels in Toronto as a result of not only the excellent service our staff delivers but also for the above average guest room product. I will certainly check our records to see what room you were offered, so that we may address any deficiencies immediately.

Candid feedback like yours is invaluable to us and you can be sure that I take this quite seriously and will be sure to share it with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I am sure that next time, we will provide you with a suite and an experience that exceeds, your expectations.

Regards,
Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel, very stylish, clean and rooms had many amenities. The rooms came with a small fridge, microwave, stove, washer and dryer, king bed a couple additional seats. We went for the night didn't use the hotel much except to sleep but it was a great hotel and if I need to stay in Toronto I will use it every time. The only downside is the parking but I am sure it sucks anywhere in Toronto. Just use the valet it will save you tons of headaches. We stayed on the 11th floor, the view was into the side of another building but that wasn't important to us since we weren't in the room very long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great room stayed in the city view on the 5th floor in the superior suite, kitchenette was great had a mini dry and washer as well as a dish washer. Bathroom was a bit small, the technology in the room (tv, clock radio) were a bit outdated. Loved the character in the hotel and the history. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Superior Suites is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We picked this Hotel for a weekend getaway and chose it's proximity to Rogers Centre. Not knowing much about Toronto I felt we lucked out! Location, location location! Not only could we walk to the Blue Jays game we walked to Eaton's Centre, the Hockey Hall of Fame is right across the street.We were able to do a lot of exploring in two short days.
The Hotel itself was very nice,our room had a lovely view. I always ask for a nice view if available and our check-in clerk had already given us a view room without asking. He also gave us directions and recommendations for restaurants that didn't disappoint.
My only issues was finding an ice machine,it was a bit of a hunt, there isn't one on every floor, and the Spa was under construction during our stay.
I will definitely choose One King West again, It's a lovely Hotel! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#49 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#23 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto
Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto
#79 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#25 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One King West Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One King West Hotel & Residence

Address: 1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — One King West Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your One King West Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One King West Hotel And Residence
1 King West Hotel & Residence
One King West Toronto
Suites Toronto
King Suites Toronto
One King West Hotel Residence
Suites 1 King West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One King West Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.