We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homebase in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One King West Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added One King West Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
One King West Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homebase in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the city for a friend's wedding. As it was the tail end of TIFF, every one of our usual hotels was incredibly expensive. This was the best value. The location was excellent, and the room was fine. Small, but clean, quiet, with a nice city view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi MichelSha,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. I'm glad to know that we met your expectations and that you found good value in One King West. Even though TIFF is a very busy time here in Toronto, I'm happy that you chose to stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've spent 3 nights at the Superior "Suite with view" while traveling to Toronto on business. My room was on the 46th floor looking east, making for some spectacular morning views. The hotel is centrally located, if you're targeting downtown Toronto, this hotel will be ideal (I walked everywhere, but there is a subway station right under the hotel, as well as a street car stop in the front). I sadly did not get a chance to try the swimming pool or the gym. The breakfast was fine but a bit pricey for what it was (do NOT get the espresso, it was a disappointment). The room was great, comfortable, kitchenette well equipped (I only used the fridge and the coffee maker), everything you would expect. Complimentary internet service is wired 100 Mbit/s ethernet only, Wi-fi is an extra $10 per day (if you need to connect your tablets/smartphones, either bring a wi-fi router or figure out how to make you laptop into one). I'm definitely staying at One King West on all my future trips to Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DF71810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi DF71810,

I thank you for your feedback and am very pleased to know that you plan to stay with us again the next time you're in Toronto. Our location is a definite plus and a real draw for many of our guests, and I'm glad that you agree.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've had the pleasure of staying at One King West a number of times, the latest for a pleasure trip to Toronto at the beginning of November. I slogged into the hotel way before check-in time (after a very trying morning of travelling) and was delighted to be welcomed back by the associate at the desk and quickly checked into my room in the old tower. The room was lovely and very welcoming also, and that set a relaxing and cared-for tone for the rest of my stay. As usual! The location of this hotel is perfectly situated for those interested in touring around Toronto - what isn't within walking distance, can be reached by the subway (a stop is located right outside the doors!) or short taxi ride. This is truly a gem in the middle of the city and, as usual, I am eagerly looking forward to the next time I can sneak away for another visit!

Room Tip: Rooms in both the old and the new towers are charming and delightful - try both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Jennifer F,

Receiving positive feedback like this, especially from our long-standing guests, is wonderful. I'm glad to know that you felt welcome and cared for during your stay. Our guests' satisfaction is our top priority and when they're happy, we're happy!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're able to sneak away!

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I, for a treat, decided to spend a weekend away in Toronto. Friends of ours recommended that we stay at One King West. The initial appeal for us was its great location. Neither of us like to drive in Toronto, so one of our goals was to find a hotel close to everything downtown Toronto. Could not have chosen any better!

The staff was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. When we needed suggestions or help, any member of the staff was happy to talk to us, to listen to our needs, and to make real suggestions that fit those needs.

Our room was perfect. A large king sized bed, extremely comfortable (loved the pillows!). Spacious room with separate shower and deep bathtub. Refridgerator, microwave, dishwasher, comfortable furniture, great light....

And so convenient to everything downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original hotel space, not the tower.. We loved the high ceilings and spacious room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Joy W,

I'm glad that you took your friends' advice and chose to stay at One King West! It's nice to know that you had an amazing weekend and we were able to share a part in that. Our location really is second to none — convenient for those who are driving in the city and for those who choose not to. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Really nice hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto. The hotel has a great atmosphere and the cooked breakfast is great. The room were a great size and very clean. Highly recommend this hotel. Only gripe was the wifi isn't complementary it costs extra to have it in the room and the wifi in the lobby isn't particularly fast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Andrew C,

I'm happy to know that you were pleased with our location, breakfast, and your suite. The fact that you would recommend us to others means a lot. Thank you.
I appreciate you letting me know about the slow wifi you experienced in the lobby. I'll be sure to share this with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked this hotel the night before my stay with Hotwire. Very reasonably priced compared to moderate chain hotels. While they had no smoking rooms available, I was given a room with a balcony so I could indulge.

I arrived in a rush mere minutes before a 6 pm wedding and check in was a breeze. The room was very spacious and very nicely appointed. There was an en suite washer, dryer, refrigerator, microwave and small dishwasher. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable.

The valet parking was pricey at $30 for the night. In room internet was $10. The vending machines are located only on the 12th and 17th floor, which to me was an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Even on the 5th floor, overlooking King and Yonge, the noise level was acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcm997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi dcm997,

I'm glad to know you were happy with your last-minute booking and that we could accommodate your needs. I thank you for posting your review.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night on for a student conference but I'm also a local. Had 2 others in the room which was perfect for the Queen bed and the sofa bed (which could've also fit another person comfortably). I originally thought we were given an upgrade but looking back to their website and room selections, these rooms are wonderful with size! The kichenette was great, even though I didn't use it. The washroom was a great size, not too tight and was very clean.

The "official" entrance to the hotel is not actually on King/Yonge so I initially missed it while coming out of King Station. Even though it's really just RIGHT there... I guess the entrance is on the other side for space reasons but the "back door" can still be a little better to catch =/ Especially for tourists that would be more unfamiliar with the city. I guess the best tip for this is to just look up - always. Even with trying to locate the building of a bank. I found walking back to the hotel was difficult too because you don't know if you're there yet, the sign for the hotel is just not obvious enough.

I didn't have much interaction with front desk staff so I can't comment on that.

Check out was smooth. I was in the Grand Banking Hall for the conference breakfast, which was amazing. The regular breakfast area is rather tiny but it was never jam packed from what I saw. You don't really have a lot of privacy though as it's right smack in the lobby with an open concept. The lobby is also smaller than a typical lobby of a hotel franchise with very few seating.

Can't comment for a longer stay but if you're just looking for a one night crash, this is it!

PS. Their pens are amazing!!! The quality!! Wish I took some more.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a more spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starryxskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi starryxskies,

It's great to see that you were happy with our conference services and your suite. I appreciate your feedback.
I'm also happy to see that you liked the pens!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Toronto
Delta Toronto
#8 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#19 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#47 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#29 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One King West Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One King West Hotel & Residence

Address: 1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Family Hotel in Toronto
#35 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — One King West Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your One King West Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 King West Hotel & Residence
One King West Hotel And Residence
One King West Toronto
Suites Toronto
King Suites Toronto
One King West Hotel Residence
Suites 1 King West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing