We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking. Great choice 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One King West Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One King West Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
One King West Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
London, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Last minute booking. Great choice 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked this hotel the night before my stay with Hotwire. Very reasonably priced compared to moderate chain hotels. While they had no smoking rooms available, I was given a room with a balcony so I could indulge.

I arrived in a rush mere minutes before a 6 pm wedding and check in was a breeze. The room was very spacious and very nicely appointed. There was an en suite washer, dryer, refrigerator, microwave and small dishwasher. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable.

The valet parking was pricey at $30 for the night. In room internet was $10. The vending machines are located only on the 12th and 17th floor, which to me was an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Even on the 5th floor, overlooking King and Yonge, the noise level was acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi dcm997,

I'm glad to know you were happy with your last-minute booking and that we could accommodate your needs. I thank you for posting your review.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    458
    176
    92
    62
See reviews for
137
533
125
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night on for a student conference but I'm also a local. Had 2 others in the room which was perfect for the Queen bed and the sofa bed (which could've also fit another person comfortably). I originally thought we were given an upgrade but looking back to their website and room selections, these rooms are wonderful with size! The kichenette was great, even though I didn't use it. The washroom was a great size, not too tight and was very clean.

The "official" entrance to the hotel is not actually on King/Yonge so I initially missed it while coming out of King Station. Even though it's really just RIGHT there... I guess the entrance is on the other side for space reasons but the "back door" can still be a little better to catch =/ Especially for tourists that would be more unfamiliar with the city. I guess the best tip for this is to just look up - always. Even with trying to locate the building of a bank. I found walking back to the hotel was difficult too because you don't know if you're there yet, the sign for the hotel is just not obvious enough.

I didn't have much interaction with front desk staff so I can't comment on that.

Check out was smooth. I was in the Grand Banking Hall for the conference breakfast, which was amazing. The regular breakfast area is rather tiny but it was never jam packed from what I saw. You don't really have a lot of privacy though as it's right smack in the lobby with an open concept. The lobby is also smaller than a typical lobby of a hotel franchise with very few seating.

Can't comment for a longer stay but if you're just looking for a one night crash, this is it!

PS. Their pens are amazing!!! The quality!! Wish I took some more.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a more spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi starryxskies,

It's great to see that you were happy with our conference services and your suite. I appreciate your feedback.
I'm also happy to see that you liked the pens!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

From Niagara Falls (stayed at the Marriot Fallsview), we drove 1.5hrs to Toronto downtown. This is actually like serviced apartments and is located right smack in the middle of the CBD area. The financial district is the place to be in Toronto city. Its better priced than the other big hotels in the vicinity. Service is not very fast though. The lobby is designed like a bank so you can imagine the lobby is not the most welcoming sight. But the lobby is not a concern. After all you shd worry abt the room - which was clean and spacious. The bathroom was small - but I let it slide given that this is designed as a service apt than a hotel. There is a bar in the lobby, surprisingly occupied day or night. We did not have any view as we were in midst of sky-scrapers. I wld recommend given the room, price (I managed to get discounted price btw) and the location. I was with my mom & Aunt. They liked the mini kitchen in the room and with a small little dining area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi NatsInAction,

Like you, your mum and your aunt, many of our guests really appreciate our in-suite amenities and I thank you for pointing it out. I'm sorry to read that you found our service to be not as fast as you would have liked. In future, please let us know immediately if something does not meet your expectations, as we can take corrective action.
I'm pleased to know that overall, you were happy with your stay. Thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Toronto.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at One King West and will definitely have this hotel on my list when I travel to Toronto again. The room was clean and modern. The view was gorgeous in the morning (well it helps that I woke up to a sunny day). The location is also convenient but lobby of the hotel is not the easiest to find. There is no room service for breakfast in the morning. Also, no bottled water in the room so you would have to call for room service to just get some water!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi ProudCanadianTravell,

It's great to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had the pleasure of such a great view on a sunny morning! In future, please let us know at the time of booking if you'd like to have bottled water in your suite, as we'd be happy to provide that for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully situated as has been said in all the previous reviews. Everything is close at hand. The dining room was disappointing, also the bar which was small, noisy and in the entrance. But the buildingitself is fabulous, in the old Dominican bank with the huge vaults on display (and indeed used for functions), a direct path to the underground shopping and we were fortunate to have a wonderful room at the end, facing the lake and on the 23rd floor. Impeccably clean and comfortable; with all the modern appliances for those staying for a period of time: dishwasher, micro, washing and drying machine...in fact all you need. The bed was extremely comfortable and the only problem was that the television did not work so well, and as it was pouring with rain on the night we stayed, we did in fact need it. But would highly recommend it for the service, cleanliness and proximity to everything. One small point: it is very easy for anyone to get through the doors and into the lifts, as the security is non existant on that point, but Toronto seemed to be a safe city, so it's probably not so important

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi IsobellaParis,

I appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide your review with TripAdvisor's readers. We take our guests' security very seriously, so I'm thankful that you brought this to my attention. I'll be sure to raise this with our security staff.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, overall, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel with a few guests from out of town. As a local, I had been to One King West for events, and was excited to finally be staying the night at what I consider to be a swanky hotel. The allure of the hotel was its location, within proximity of subway, restaurants, clubs etc. which met our needs.

We got a suite with the king size bed, pull-out couch and kitchen area on the 18th floor.

Now for the positives, the hotel offers valet parking for $30 with in and out privileges, which is great especially if you have to come and go in the same day and for downtown parking, its a good price. Just be prepared to wait for your car for about 10-15 minutes (I guess it depends on the traffic, so call ahead). The valet staff were friendly and courteous, and so were the bell hops. The kitchen area (which we used) is quite good too with black, sleek appliances (no oven btw), but fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker were all in great condition. The bed was lovely too and those who used the pull-out couch had no issues. Overall a comfortable night.

Now for some nit-picking - from the website photos, they show hotel rooms with flat-screen tvs and amazing bathrooms, but that was not our suite. For a hotel of this caliber, they still had the old HUGE tv in the room. It really looked out of place. The bathroom was kind of cramped, and it had what had to be the oldest style of shower-head I have seen. Again, definitely not in keeping with the rest of the hotel style. We also did not get any face towels and had to call down twice for these, which was odd.

Outside of these two items, it was a great stay, we didn't hear noise from hallways or other rooms (maybe coz we were making all the noise? hmm), and service was good. We were there on a Saturday and the hotel was really busy, so there were lineups at the elevators, but that was not a hotel problem.

I would definitely stay here again, but I would make sure to get a room that looks like their website photos. We are paying customers afterall. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Ciru_TO,

Although there were many aspects of our hotel that you were pleased with, I'm sorry to hear that we failed to meet your standards in others. I always appreciate constructive feedback such as yours, as it ensures that we continue to stay on our toes.

Next time, please contact me directly at gm@onekingwest.com and I'll be sure to provide you with a suite that meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at One King West so I had a place to stay after an event in the city-didn't want to do the long drive back. Location was amazing, its located right downtown. King Subway station is right across the street, Shoppers Drug Mart and Starbucks near by. Stayed in a suite with a King bed and Kitchenette. I was surprised that they still had the old tube TVs as everything else in the hotel looked pretty modern. My only complaint was that although the bathroom appeared to be cleaned (no visible dirt or associated nastiness) it just smelled awful! I could go into detail about what it smelled like but I will spare you all the details. I didn't really care to complain at the time since I got a pretty good deal on Travelocity and it was only 1 night. Would stay here again but solely on location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi travelbugz2006,

I'm terribly sorry to read that you experienced an issue with the washroom in your suite! I understand that you were only with us for one night, but please do let us know in future immediately if something doesn't meet your standards. We would have liked to have rectified the situation. We want our guests to have as pleasant of a stay as possible.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@onekingwest.com next time your travel plans bring you back to Toronto and I'd be happy to take care of your reservation personally. I'll ensure that you receive a suite that absolutely meets your standards.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Steve O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One King West Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One King West Hotel & Residence

Address: 1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#36 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — One King West Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your One King West Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One King West Hotel And Residence
1 King West Hotel & Residence
One King West Toronto
Suites Toronto
King Suites Toronto
One King West Hotel Residence
Suites 1 King West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One King West Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.