We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Budget friendly, polite staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Toronto to your Saves list
Knights Inn Toronto
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   117 Pembroke Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #114 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Whitby, ON, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Budget friendly, polite staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this small establishment, clean, 'no frills' budget-friendly, polite staff. It's in the heart of downtown Toronto-- within walking distance to major attractions, such as Eaton Centre & others places, & TTC transit. They have free continental breakfast; and affordable parking (compared to other local hotels & city parking).
--Although the size of my queen room was compact, it had it's own seperate full bathroom, & TV, & dinning table, night table; it was comfortable, clean & updated/modern furnishings in the room/bathroom. (The hotel itself the deco in the hallways may need updating in terms of the colors, but if budget is your focus, then this is a great place-- esp. for students or someone who would rather spend the money on great local restaurants, local attractions or shopping).
--Overall,I enjoyed my stay (was in town for a conference and wanted to avoid having to commute in busy, crazy downtown traffic & bad weather storm predicted for that week; and wanted to be near my conference, so I could sleep in a bit in the morning before hand).
-- The 2 main drawback is if you're someone who has mobility issues, then it may be an issue -- as there's no elevator to the 2nd floor (and multi-level stairs & landings, and steep main staircase). Secondly, there's limited parking spaces (so check ahead of time for availability if you're bringing your car), but it is probably adequate for the size of the establishment (esp. on weekday) .
--TIP -- ( If you're from out of town), there are many one way streets in the downtown core (can be confusing), and because of local transit (busses & streetcars, at certain times of the day you can't turn in certain directions or there's no city street parking during certain posted times). Best options (instead of taking the car) -- walk, take TTC transit (subway, bus), or taxis, as Municipal Parking can be around $25+ for day.

Room Tip: No fitness center, or poor (or 'extra frills').
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    30
    21
    34
See reviews for
11
38
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located. (The Carleton Repertory Cinema is near Yonge and Carleton, a few blocks away.) Staff were hospitable and helpful. The hotel is not fancy, but it is reasonably priced and includes a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.The location of this hotel is perfect, it's in the heart of the downtown.If you are going to use the room for sleeping and showering and you will spend most of your day out, then this is the right hotel. The room was clean and cozy, the breakfast is for free but very poor.If you are old and you have a heavy bag, chose your room in the ground floor as there is no elevator. The worst thing in this hotel was that although they are mentioning that there is a free wifi in the rooms, there was no wifi coverage on the floors. Everytime you have to go to the reception area to use the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is great it's about a 7 minute walk to dundas square and the eaton centre. Diner, pizza hut and smokes poutinerie down the road. It is a good short stator if your not fussy about being In a nice hotel. Although the place appears to be renovated recently it felt as if they were trying to dress up and cover the wear and tear, not a particularlarly good job at it either.

Overall if you are looking to discover sight see or shop for most of the day and use the room for showering and sleeping and your looking to save money, then this is the hotel for you. A plus is that wifi is free and so is breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a night instead of a hostel at a bit less a night. I dont have high expectations but a greeting and quick introduction would be nice (WiFi Password, when is breakfast etc.)
The rooms are very nice for the price and I had the feeling there had been recent renovations but the staff was disappointing. There was only a half toilet paper roll in the room which didnt last very long because its thinner than paper and I was furious when the front desk attendant knocked on my door at 2 am (NO JOKE!!) because apparently the room didnt showed empty in the system. So not only did nobody realise until 14 hours after arrival but also did he have the crazy idea to come knocking at 2 am!
Really nice location and good rooms but the service was below (my very low) standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We sincereloy apologise to the guest. At the time we were undergoing a change in our software and the staff were in training. The incident at 2AM will be investigated but it is possible that due to the transistion from one software to another some rooms had been missed and showed available.

The reviews are very important to us and enable us to address the complaints and improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had no problem with this place. 10 minutes walk to Dundas Square, friendly maids and helpful front desk people. My room was clean and tidy through and through. Sheets were clean, and I didn't get bed bug bites. Washroom was renovated to a decent extent and was very clean. Only nitpick was there was no ice machine in the building at all. If you can get room 239(it's a 1 queen bed), definitely take it!! I would definitely consider this place again. I paid $148 plus taxes, and it came to $167 for 2 nights!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Service, hotel and was fine.
The staff was really helpful and nice.
I could ask anything at the reception they would try to do their best to help me and giving good advice.
Breakfast was nice and they try to improve everyday. (They have a wafle machine delicious)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munira D, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto

Address: 117 Pembroke Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Toronto, this historic property offers the contrast of old town look with newly renovated rooms. Conveniently located, this property is mere five minutes walk from the Eaton Centre, Allan Gardens, Dundas Square and many other tourist attractions including award winning restaurants. It is one of the few hotels in Downtown which has survived the York period (Former Toronto). Hop onto a street car or Subway and you are at the Toronto Convention Centre, University of Toronto, CN Towers, Rogers Center, Hockey Hall of Fame, China town,American Embassy and Harbor front within ten minutes. At Knights Inn we are committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. All our staff members are dedicated and will provide you with excellent service, making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Toronto
Downtowner Motel Toronto
Downtowner Inn Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.