We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Nice Place to stay for business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Nice Place to stay for business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I came in late at night for a business trip. The staff was very helpful in finding the location and directing me to various parking options. The inside could benefit from some remodeling; however, I found my room very nice and spacious. It was a quiet and comfortable stay. The breakfast was not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Clint C;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto. We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us.

We appreciate your sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.


Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    161
    73
    45
    54
See reviews for
22
225
53
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The location was great. Parking was $40 a day. The rooms have great potential, however they were dirty, the linens were old and ratty. The bathroom walls were gross. The entire place needs paint. Never was able to connect to the "free" WiFi. It should be listed as a 2.5 - 3 star tops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Istravel2014;

Thank you for your review. At the Cosmopolitan we strive for great service and positive experiences and to have you share your experience at the Cosmopolitan is very much appreciated.

We are currently undergoing a full hotel Internet upgrade in order to improve the WIFI experience for our guests. This upgrade should be completed by the middle of August at the latest. The cleanliness and condition of your guest suite has also been noted, and I apologize again that this did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay.

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

There are may reasons why this should not be a 4 star rated hotel and should not be considered unless you are desperate and without any options. First off, if more than one party checks in at a time, the lobby is crowded and there is no where to stand.

The rooms have a nice layout but it's dirty before you even set foot in the door. Area rugs were never cleaned, the bathroom floor was never cleaned, windows had about an inch of dirt on the outside, they could not locate a spare remote for the bedroom tv so we could not use it, soap dispensers were empty repeatedly. And before you say that this was an isolated incident, I booked two rooms for another guest and we experienced virtually the same thing minus the tv remote. We asked for wash cloths and got a sponge, English was a challenge for the room attendants. We arranged for a car rental, they got the room numbers confused and delayed the process by over an hour. To cap it all off, I pulled the blind up to get some light in and the fixture came off the ceiling and provided a nice 1 inch cut and bruising. When maintenance came up they simply placed it back in the spot with no additional reinforcement, will happen to someone again very soon. We stayed for 4 day in a dirty poorly managed room. Would not suggest anyone stay here. Did not even try the food since everything else was crap. By the way, you can get an amazing steak right across the street at Houstons Grill at almost half the cost.

Save the money and headaches.

Room Tip: Try one King West, same accommodations but cleaner and better managed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Yogi S;

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us at the Cosmopolitan Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned to our standards, and that the overall condition of the guestroom you stayed in was unacceptable. I am curious to know if you shared your overall concerns with one of the managers in the front office upon your departure from the hotel?

Again, thank you for your feedback, and should you wish to share any further details, I would be more than happy to hear from you.

Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here over a year ago so this review is a tad overdue! Firstly the hotel is in the financial district of the city and easy to find. It is close to local amenities and the Eaton shopping center is only a short walk away. The reception staff are always ready to help with any inquiry that you may have. The room itself had a large comfortable bed and there was a small kitchenette where you can prepare food etc. If I am ever in Toronto again I definitely would not mind staying here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mohammad K;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto. We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us.

We appreciate your sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.


Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was a love and hate relationship with the hotel. Check-in was a bit chaotic and confusing...we didn't know where to park/valet. We had to ask for help with our luggage. The room was spacious and had kitchen amenities. Definitely great for a long time stay. The view from our room was amazing. Room could use a thorough cleaning. Very dusty and rugs needed vacuuming. The wi-fi was extremely spotty. When we called down to inform front desk that the wifi was not working he assured us that it was working and nobody else had complained about the wifi so obviously it was working...From that response, we figured we troubleshoot ourselves and figured out that the wifi was very spotty and we had to stand near the entrance for any type of service. The wifi signal was stronger outside our rooms and even outside in the front of the hotel. Location of the hotel was great, right around the corner from the subway and also walking distance to a lot of places including the mall.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor for great view. Also there are some rooms with sofabed, must request at reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear MaryMary0214;

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, at the Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto. It is always great to hear feedback from our guests to know how your experience was.

I would like to apologize for the "chaotic" check in experience. This is not the norm for us, as we pride ourselves on providing excellent and consistent service to all of our guests. It is unfortunate you did not experience this when you stayed with us. On the issue of the Internet, we are currently working on an upgrade to our entire system, as we know that it is quite "spotty" and inconsistent, which is unacceptable for our guests. We hope to have this upgrade completed by the end of summer. I have also ensured that our housekeeping team is aware of your comments regarding cleanliness, so that the team is aware of the inconsistencies surrounding our rooms, and work towards a cleaner and more consistent product for all guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future should you require accommodations in the downtown Toronto area!

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. We were actually shocked upon entering our room as it was so much more beautiful than we expected. All the finishes have a high end look and the suite was clean and orderly. The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing. The bed was so comfortable as well. For the price, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The location is fantastic (right on the subway line), close to restaurants and attractions. We HIGHLY recommend the Cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Jim F,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us and regarding the suite that you stayed in! Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward providing each and every guest excellent service. With the abundance of hotels to choose from when staying in Toronto, we truly appreciate your glowing review of our hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto!

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

we stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night. We were surprised we were able to check in at noon even though check in was at 3. The room was fine, we didn't use any of the kitchen amenities but the room looked like it could use a good deep clean. The only problem was that we could hear a lot of noise in the hallway throughout the night. The hotel is in a good location close to a lot of things in Toronto. the price was right so we decided to stay there for the night. If you are not super picky this hotel is fine for the price, all you are doing is sleeping and showering anyway.

Room Tip: ask to be in a remote location or you will hear people coming and going all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Milanist;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto. We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us. I have taken note of your comment regarding the sound proofing in our rooms, however due to the layout of our floor plans, this really cannot be avoided unfortunately. I hope that this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

We appreciate your sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.


Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Address: 8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#34 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban oasis in the heart of Toronto's financial district, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is a leader in the newest trend in lifestyle hotels and is recognized for its exceptional design concept, service and ambiance. A stay at the Cosmopolitan is the ultimate in intimate, modern comfort. With only 5 suites per floor, the amenities are generous and include windows & balconies that open to spectacular views of the city and Lake Ontario, hardwood floors, full kitchens, washer/dryers, 32 inch flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.