We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Your Holiday Escape
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Southwick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 days while vacationing in Toronto. It was central to everything. The rooms were equipped with kitchens and separate bedrooms. We had a great view of Lake Ontario. My only complaint was the linens and lighting. The lighting in the bathrooms was not good for putting on makeup and the linens were not top quality. The bar on the first floor was wonderful. Pleasant atmosphere to enjoy a glass a wine and something to eat. Which we did

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear KGCK;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto. We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us. I have taken note of your comment regarding the lighting in the washrooms, as well as the fact that our linens are not top quality. We are working on improving our linen quality over the next few months, and hope that this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

We appreciate your sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.


Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    152
    71
    45
    52
See reviews for
22
220
52
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After a really bad experience and review, we were contacted, and offered a free night's stay for an upcoming scheduled appointment for my daughter. Check in was a breeze, and we had some cupcakes waiting for us in our room which made my nervous daughter very happy. We needed a few extra blankets and they were brought up right away. The front desk also called up to ensure that we didn't need anything else. The noise we experienced the last time wasn't an issue this time. There was still construction outside, but I imagine you could ask to be placed away from it. We were up and gone early so it wasn't an issue. Thank you to the Cosmopolitan staff and Chad for reaching out and making it right. This is clearly a manager who cares about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Diane K.,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward providing each and every guest excellent service. It is so nice to know that we've made a visible difference in regards to service, and our room cleanliness since you stayed with us in the fall!

We hope to welcome you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto anytime!

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Repeat customer because the Cosmopolitan lives up to its name consistently. I always park in the nearby municipal ramp and remain on foot to everything I need nearby. Especially the King St. subway station at Yonge. Being on a little side street, the hotel is already an immediate antidote to the hyperactive scene outside the major hotels.

It's not an enormous entryway but plenty easy on arrival. I prefer more confined lobby and hallway space in exchange for the larger elevator and room spaces—there is no shortage of real estate in the xx03 numbered suites with ample windows in the main living/kitchen area. Hot hot water and always sensible soaps and shower items. The current squeeze bottle bodywash was straight from Germany. All in all, a stylish but efficient mix.

Note that some of the appointments are getting well worn and rooms are in the process of being refurbished. I look forward to seeing the results the next time, and really hope they return the subtle, colorized lighting that used to greet you in the elevators (there's presently a glaring blend of bright conventional bulbs). The up-facing halogen lamps are still there under glass on the hallway floor edges—now a bit of a throwback but still impressive in stand-out boutique hotel design.

Finally, checkout is always efficient, and Kelly at the front desk is reference-grade—extremely cordial and professional. When you're there, she may compel you to take a second apple from their fruit bowl! Great for heading out the door and getting into the fray of traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear John P. W.,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward providing each and every guest excellent service. With the abundance of hotels to choose from when staying in Toronto, we truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto!

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend a few weeks ago, Everything was above and beyond what I expected. First of all, as soon as I arrived at the hotel the valet - Yonas, greeted me and partner and assisted us with our bags and even helped us to our room! The check-in experience was super fast and easy. Natalie was absolutely wonderful.

Later on that evening we needed dinner recommendations. Yonas and Natalie gave us many options in the area that we exactly what we were looking for.

All in all, the staff was great, location was ideal and the rooms were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Brad H;

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed the time spent with us! Your positive remarks regarding our Front Office team has made our colleagues day, thank you!

We appreciate your sincere recommendation and we look forward to welcoming both you and those you refer to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent accomodations, reasonable prices. A very close walk to the convention center, with more spacious rooms than more advertised hotels. Full kitchen, sitting room with wall-length window provided an amazing view.

Room Tip: Upper floors have very nice city views...glass walls are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear jcmillik;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto. We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us.

We appreciate your sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We travelled recently to the Cosmopolitan where we were amazed with the modern suites, all the ammentities you could ever want including full kitchen, satellite tv, balcony with beautiful view of the city, comfortable oversize beds and climate control . Thanks to the amazing front desk and spa staff for leaving us relaxed and rejuvenated. I would also recommend an evening of fine dining at Wildfire, the hotels fantastic steakhouse and wine bar. Will definately book there again on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Carlosdanger1964;

Thank you for your wonderful review and detailed comments regarding your stay at the Cosmopolitan Toronto, along with sharing your experience in Wildfire and our Shizen Spa! We value your feedback and even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us.

We appreciate your excellent review and rating of our hotel., and look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. My partner and I planned a romantic staycation weekend at the Cosmopolitan - we both live in Toronto and got the Tranquility Suite for the weekend (Friday and Saturday nights). While it's not the grandest hotel I've ever stayed in, it's certainly nice, comfortable, well-designed, spacious and boasts a fantastic location. We particularly liked the fact that it's tucked away on Colborne - if you're looking for privacy, you've come to the right place. The spa is also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad R, Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sarah C;

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us for your weekend "staycation". At the Cosmopolitan we strive for great service and positive experiences and to have you share your experience with us is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again the next time you need a weekend away from home!

Again, thank you for taking the time to share the details regarding your most recent stay.

Warm Regards,

Chad R.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Address: 8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#34 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban oasis in the heart of Toronto's financial district, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is a leader in the newest trend in lifestyle hotels and is recognized for its exceptional design concept, service and ambiance. A stay at the Cosmopolitan is the ultimate in intimate, modern comfort. With only 5 suites per floor, the amenities are generous and include windows & balconies that open to spectacular views of the city and Lake Ontario, hardwood floors, full kitchens, washer/dryers, 32 inch flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.