We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Your Holiday Escape
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for the easter weekend and it was wonderful! Le marche restaurant close by to this hotel, eaton centre, convenient pharmacy shoppers, tims, sub just very central. The hotel itself was perfect! Loved my room on the 26th floor. Washer dryer which I appreciated staying for 4 days. Food wasn't too bad but my preference was to go out. The bar downstairs is quaint not a huge selection in wine but the service there was great. They are all willing to help you in whatever you need! Paid parking is a HUGE annoyance for me when I am already staying at your hotel! Further down the street is underground. It was free. My balcony view was alright. More buildings surround me so it was more just height but I still appreciated it. Bed pillow was not comfortable but bed itself was decent. Enjoy your stay!:)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    152
    71
    45
    52
See reviews for
22
220
52
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I booked this hotel for a seminar that was taking place at the exchange center. My original criteria for selecting the cosmo was that it was a 4 star with strong reviews and very close to everything.

I will describe the aspects of this hotel in such a way that anyone skimming this review can likely jump to what is important.

The room:
I was in a Zen Suite (their cheapest room). This room was MUCH bigger than i expected. a fully functional kitchenette, living room, decent and clean washroom and a very decently sized bedroom. The bed was excellent. The washer and dryer was a surprise. The living room was nice enough that I entertained friends one evening (and actually cooked up something for them). The bathroom was very bright and clean, but the toilet could have used some maintenance. I did not really have a view on the 11th floor (except into the opposing office building... and they could likely see me very well as well), but this just is not an issue for me. If anyone else needs a view, specifically request a room near the top of the hotel. One thing to note, I would not call this room child friendly. It is definitely geared towards adults (modern, simple, elegant). In addition, the sound proofing was not the best. I expect that if you bring children, it will in fact be you disturbing other clients. This again was not an issue for me but should be considered.

Location:
If you are planning to walk, it is a great spot. Minutes from most anything in the core downtown. The road was not easy to get to by car because of construction, and I am told this is not uncommon, and parking (should you need it) is not cheap... about $35/night (I flew in).

First Impressions:
When you first walk in, it is somewhat claustrophobic in the entrance area. VERY small. The hallways too. As a result, I started out with a weak impression of what this stay will be like. I felt much better when I found my room.

Staff:
Extremely nice and helpful. A newspaper at my door every morning, and everyone seemed to genuinely enjoy working at this hotel. Makes for a nice change. I was a bit thrown off by women coming in the evening with incense or other aroma items, but it is a spa'ish/zen'ish hotel, and it fits with the theme.

Overall, it was certainly more than I expected, and if I need to stay downtown for multiple days, I will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Again, if you want a view you will need a room near the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on November 11 for one night. I booked it with Quickbook because they offered a great rate of 129.00. When we were checking in, the hotel had us booked at $159.00 and promised to correct the error. I should not have been suprised that when we were checking out, I was charged the higher rate and it took a while to ensure that I got my credit card refunded on the spot. We encountered incompetence and sloppy service throughout our stay including waiting for slippers for an hour and returning to the front desk several times because rooms cards were not working. But the worst of it came several days later when I checked my credit card statement and found out that were were charged over $40.00 for wine and chocolate that were not even in the room as alcohol was locked in the fridge. I won't repeat what other reviewers said about the accommodations but they are not comfortable or zen. Bathroom tiles were not cleaned in a while, floors were dusty so you could not work without shoes, and sofa was not big enough for 2 people to sit comfortably. We booked this hotel because of its location and positive reviews but I can't recommend my experience to anyone. We travel a fair bit, and don't place unreasonable demands on places where we stay, but this stay was the worst.

Room Tip: Book a room, if you dare, on higher floors as the hotel is facing an office building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was originally booked in for two nights which I prepaid online through the hotel's website. It was a visit for leisure, so location (while being central was important, where in the downtown I was was not) wasn't a primary concern. However, the location was excellent as well.

The entrance to the hotel is on a side street, and while the reception area is rather intimate, the quality of service and the quality and size of the rooms made up for it. Who really hangs out in the lobby, anyway?

I was only able to stay one of the nights I'd intended as my dog escaped from where we had boarded him which meant I had to travel home to join the search, but my one night was enough to absolutely ensure my return.

Upon learning of my predicament, the front desk staff went ahead and issued me a partial refund - even without my having requested any refund - and expressed their sincere concern. It was excellent treatment that left me with the impression they truly valued my business.

I have recommended this hotel to others, and will continue to do so. I look forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

great hotel - has everything you need friendly environment - with a city like Toronto you can (if you feel fit enough) walk length and width - i never used the spa, it looked OK but I just liked the feel of the place, just so central...

Room Tip: all seem on a par to me - there is not really a view to talk about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The location is fine, near enough to business area, shopping centre and sights - and there is a good choice of bars and restaurants at the east end of the street. Rooms are a good size and the living/kitchen area is useful, but the overall standard of decor, cleanliness and repair is not great. It's fine to stay for a couple of days but don't expect high end boutique hotel standard - it's a travelodge wanting to be a boutique. Having to pay for internet usage is ridiculous, doesn't add anything to the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Returning to the Cosmpolitan after a few years, we expected the same quality we had experienced before. Unfortunately, the quality has declined.

We were shocked by the amount of mildew growing in the shower. This amount of mold is what you might expect at a YMCA or public shower but not at a boutique hotel. Note to management: a small amount of bleach kills mildew.

After immediately complaining and showing the front desk rep, he showed me two other rooms which were equally accentuated with moldy showers. We picked the least moldy and tried to bear it.

I am uploading pictures that really do not quite illustrate the level of uncleanliness but give you a pretty good idea.

Also, when returning to the hotel on a Saturday night at 10pm, we wanted to have a glass of wine at the bar but were told it was a $10 cover for each of us because there was an event. Even when we explained we were staying at the hotel, we were told it did not matter.

Hotel Fail.

Get it together, Cosmopolitan management, or your friendly staff will be out of jobs when you close your doors.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto

Address: 8 Colborne Street, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#34 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban oasis in the heart of Toronto's financial district, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is a leader in the newest trend in lifestyle hotels and is recognized for its exceptional design concept, service and ambiance. A stay at the Cosmopolitan is the ultimate in intimate, modern comfort. With only 5 suites per floor, the amenities are generous and include windows & balconies that open to spectacular views of the city and Lake Ontario, hardwood floors, full kitchens, washer/dryers, 32 inch flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.