We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dundonald House

Dundonald House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dundonald House
Save
You added Dundonald House to your Saves list
35 Dundonald Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y1K3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 122 Toronto B&B and Inns
Ottawa
1 review
“Beautiful B&B and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

I was visiting Toronto for a conference, and chose Dondonald House instead of one of the nearby downtown hotels. It was a great decision -- the hosts, Warren and Dave, are most welcoming, and their home is stylish and beautifully appointed, and is clearly well cared for. The breakfasts were delicious and substantial. I stayed in the Mary, which gave me plenty of room to work, and the complementary Internet was most appreciated. I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future visit!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

We were four women travelling together and after reading the glowing reviews here, decided to book into Dundonald House. It was all we could have hoped for and more. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts, which varied daily, plus attentive and welcoming hosts. Dave and Warren were able to recommend places to eat and to drink. It was close to all amenities, including the gay village and the underground/subway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Visiting Toronto for the first time, I could not have chosen a better place to stay. Not only affordable, but the place is a hop, skip, and walk to the main street in Gay Toronto, or to other neighborhoods, shopping districts, and a brisk walk to downtown, where you can shop and take in the sights. Also, many great restaurants nearby.

The couple who own the home, Warren & Dave, could not have been nicer, more efficient, or knowledgeable about what to do, or how to find a locale. Their home being the bed & breakfast was immaculate, beautifully laid out and furnished. The room I had was the same; and the chic black and white tiled bath was fantastic. I have to admit though that the highlight of the stay was the Gourment breakfasts each morning, with lots of coffee to spare (a must) ... I could not have been more pleased!

I rate Dundonald House as excellent and well worth the stay!

Alan Dennen
Massachusetts, USA

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

This guest house is clean, upscale and perfectly located (you can walk to everything), the breakfasts look and taste like they came out of Gourmet magazine, and the hosts, Warren and Dave treat you like you're family. They are very helpful and knowledgeable about Toronto, and make you feel special. Their positive attitude sets the tone for enjoyable breakfast conversations with other guests, which can turn into good friendships. Staying here made my trip to Toronto so much more enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location, hosts, food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Dundonald house is an experience travelers only dream about!
Our hosts David and Warren provided an atmosphere that was beyond any possible expectation! The warmth and friendliness that we felt, should be shared by all who travel to the “village”.
We truly experienced the pampering they provide from the moment we arrived.
The accommodations provided were unsurpassed. The breakfasts were everything the website describes and more!
The location leaves you only a few steps away from everything one comes to the “village” for.
Close to Public transportation for everything else.
We highly recommend The Dundonald House to all “Rainbow People” who travel to Toronto. We know where we are staying the next time we travel back to Toronto!

  • Liked — How safe we felt and comfortable we were.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My friend and I decided to take a trip to Toronto the weekend of July 13-16, 2007. This was our fourth time to Toronto and always stayed at a large corporate chain hotel in the past. We decided to give one the Church village guesthouses a try this time. All we can say is that it's a shame we did not try Dundonald house during an earlier trip. By foot, Dundonald is in a very convenient location near all the clubs and businesses in the "Rainbow Village" along Church St. It is also in walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants along Yonge St. and Eaton Center. Your hosts, David & Warren run a beautiful victorian home with stained-glass windows, hard wood floors, and a baby grand piano in the front room. Wake up refreshed in the morning with a gourmet breakfast of eggs, toast, juice, coffee or tea, yogurt with fresh berries, and buttery pancakes in the formal dinning room. We stayed in the room named "Dorothy" and slept on bed that is far better than anything you will sleep on at a chain hotel. We will definitely make Dudonald House our place to stay on future trips to Toronto.
-- Vince & John

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed in a Traveller Room, which was basic, but very comfortable, with a share bathroom, but access to a Sauna. The hosts, Warren and Dave, are incredibly attentive and hospitable and helpful with info re what to do and see and where to go for fun. Dundonald House is a beautiful "home away from home", the breakfasts were wonderful and Rio, the Ridgeback pup, was a constant entertainment and joy.

  • Liked — Hospitality of Owners
  • Disliked — Size of the bedroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundonald House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonald House

Address: 35 Dundonald Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Toronto's Gay Village, we offer you an oasis of calm in a wonderful, lively city. Shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, nightclubs and public transportation are a short walk away. Enjoy a hot, home made breakfast, complimentary touring bikes, workout room, wireless internet, central air are just a few amenities you'll enjoy in this beautifully renovated home. Your hosts, Dave and Warren will see that you have everything you need in your home for the night. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundonald House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.