We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the opera...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts

Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts
145 Queen St. W., Toronto, Ontario M5H 4G1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-363-8231
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's first purpose-built opera house was completed in 2006 and is the home of the Canadian Opera Company and the National Ballet of Canada. Highlights of the Four Seasons Centre include the world's longest freespan glass staircase and a horseshoe-shaped, European style auditorium featuring phenomenal advancements in modern engineering and acoustical design. Facility tours are available. For upcoming opera and ballet performances, visit the Canadian Opera Company and The National Ballet of Canada websites.
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A night at the opera...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've been to the Four Seasons Centre twice: once for an opera (Rigoletto in 2011/12) and once for Operanation, their annual fundraising event for young professionals. The venue is absolutely stunning, a major attraction in Toronto, I think. The Canadian Opera Company is a major player in the opera world, too. Their productions are fresh, innovative, and exciting. There are also great options for cheap tickets, especially for those under 30. I highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    37
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well designed and acoustics are wonderful! I'm there 7 times a year to attend the Canadian Opera Company productions which have been superb in both singers and design. I LOVE the theatre space!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nutcracker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The decor is great, the play was great, the bartenders were great! My girlfriend and I went to the Keg down the street before the show and we recommend making reservations because everywhere is busy with the before-show rush

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to see a show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've watched the National Ballet of Canada here and it was excellent. The seats are comfortable and the acoustics are awesome. I love the design of the entire building. It's brilliant. I love how you can see all 4 levels from each of the levels and how you can also look out into University Avenue. Very cool. Coat check is in the basement which doesn't cost too much. There are bars on each floor where you can buy drinks and SOME snacks like ice cream bars. Don't buy their coffee though. Oh man does it suck!

Can't wait to watch an opera here!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Four Seasons Centre is in a great location, convenient to transit in the heart of the city. The acoustics are fantastic and the venue is the perfect size. There really is not a bad seat in the house. The pale wood and glass are very pretty and the lobby area is nice and large so you don't feel packed in when it is full prior to performance time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.