We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverdance - Heartbeat of Home in Toronto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ed Mirvish Theatre

Ed Mirvish Theatre
244 Victoria St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-872-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 614 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ed Mirvish Theatre began its life in 1920 as a combination vaudeville and motion picture theatre in the Pantages theatre circuit. With its original 3373 seats, it was the largest cinema in Canada and, with its lavish interior - designed by the great theatre architect Thomas Lamb - the most elegant. David Mirvish officially renamed the iconic building The Ed Mirvish Theatre on December 6, 2011.
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Riverdance - Heartbeat of Home in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Amazing show! I always liked Irish dancing but this show will blow away your imagination! A world-class cast of 38 of the best Irish, Latin and Afro-Cuban dancers and musicians performing for two hours non stop. When you feel like only 15' and surprised it is over you know how great this show is. Toronto is just the first stop on its North American tour and if you can go and see you will not regret it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    54
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Some Fantastic Dancing!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Neither me nor my friend had ever seen Riverdance, so this was a first of this type of dance - worth the time and effort for sure. The Irish Dancers are fantastic - juxtaposed to the Flamenco dancers and the Inner City ones - so well choreographed. When you go, keep an eye on the female of trio of InnerCity dancers. In particular, watch her hands and arms - the most expressive I've ever seen. They draw you in to the story. I'm not waxing poetic - it's true :) And the Bodran (sp?) player - very cool…..actually a really really good band. Everyone seemed so personable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heartbeat of Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

WOW!!!!!! what an amazing performance!!!!!!!! beginning to end kept us mesmerized. The music, the dancers, the stories were beyond captivating.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makham, ON
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friday Evening at The Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just come back from the theater. What a wonderful experience, despite the miserable, cold weather the show was nothing less than awesome. Great music, great dancing, wonderful cast.
Sexy, electrifying. If you have seen Riverdance and you like it than this show you will LOVE.
I definitely would recommend it - it is must see if you are in Toronto, ON

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heart Beat of Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Captivating performance with energetic dancers and excellent musicians. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed Mirvish Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ed Mirvish Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ed Mirvish Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.