We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tip top stay in Torontos West End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place

Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place to your Saves list
Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place
33 Beaty Ave., Toronto, Ontario M6K 3B3 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Lake George
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A tip top stay in Torontos West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Looking for a place to stay in Torontos less than fashionable West End I came across the Bonnevue and thought I'd give it a try.
The B&B is located on a pleasant tree lined street North of King (the dividing line between 'sketchy' and OK) and South of Queen. These are the two main East West arteries in Toronto. Both have streetcar service which trundles you pretty much anywhere a tourist needs to go. It also has the advantage of being closer to the airport than most downtown or east end places. My single room was on the top floor (3RD) .The bathroom was spotless with an excellent shower. In fact it seemed to have been redone recently. The walls were rather thin and I could hear my basically quiet neighbours, but fortunately it wasn't a problem. Garrulous Glen and quiet Dorothy were excellent attentive hosts, providing everything one needed. The food was splendid. Great breads and croissants. Fresh Fruit. Plain Yogurt ( requested and provided).Hot milk for the strong coffee (also requested and provided) Wi Fi and free parking in the rear through a very narrow passage.
Nearby Roncesvalles is a thriving food and boutique street, and not far away one can walk along Lake Ontario. A great stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We received a warm welcome from Dorothy, the room was great, washroom area very clean. The beds where iffy (eggcarton foam on top of mattress). I didn't look beyound as I may have left then and there. Breakfast was great, good selection.

As for some of the quest the night we stayed I thought I was at a fraternity house, the exccessive noise went on until 4:30AM. There is no access to a public phone when management is not there, they do not stay during the night so if you have a problem big or small make sure you bring your cell phone and don't hesitate to use it.

Parking should not be an issue although is was for us because to the unruly guest. The neighbourhood is so so but, we where not bothered by anyone.

Lorraine
Ottawa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This eclectic house is quite lovely and very clean.
However at 2:00am the MANAGER had his friends over to party. They were playing the piano in the common room on the 1st floor, then went upstairs to the 3rd floor (directly above us) and partied until finally we went up to tell them to be quiet...this was at 4:38am. They took it outside (front yard, outside our window ) and continued until 4:56am.
Awful night, no sleep. Do not stay here unless you ensure quietness.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Bonnevue Manor condo in downtown Toronto and what a treat it was. Over looking the CN tower, the view was amazing. We had rented the condo for a week. It was a self-contained unit with one bedroom, living room, full kitchen, dining room, and full bathroom. It was the same cost as a hotel but much more comfortable. We were living at home while away from home. Transportation was very handy. The street car is located right across the street. The street car took us everywhere we wanted to go. To the harbour, to the grocery store, to China Town, to the business zone. It was only $3.00 per person to ride a street car. Much more economical than a taxi. We bought our own groceries and prepared our own meals so we didn't have to eat restaurant food all week. There was internet, wifi, TV, and all the ammenities of a hotel. Glenn, the host, was great. He was so helpful when we needed information or directions. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This B&B, in an impressive former mansion in west Toronto (very easy access from the Gardiner Expressway/QEW) is outstanding! From the warm welcome by Dorothy, to the delicious breakfast by Glenn, to the warm and comfortable bedrooms, everything is excellent! With free off-street parking in the back yard, and the included hot breakfast, the cost is much better than mid-class hotels in Toronto. Easy access to King St. West and Queen Street West makes getting around simple. Each room and the public spaces (including even an ironing room!) all have ample supplies of reading materials, from novels to magazines (including Gaiety) to guide materials. The managers are friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: All four rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved this place and will stay again. The breakfast was great, coffee was strong, room was clean, building was quiet.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stay at the Bonnevue for 5 days and toured Toronto from there. The location was good, in an older area. Queen St west is a bit rough but easy access to transit. The house is a lovely old heritage house with lots of brick and wood. Unfortunately it looks like they are going to paint some of the original brick at the entrance gold and cream, I guess they just don't understand the concept of "heritage" and how important it is to keep it original and intact.

The food was good and plentiful. An array of cold self serve breakfast items with cheeses, breads, cereals, fresh baked items and or a full hot breakfast of the day. They cater to dietary needs too.

The room I was on the second floor, had no bath but a lovely walk in shower. The bed was not terrible, had an egg crate foamy on the mattress but the linens were ok. The room was tight but had a large private deck to sit out on which was nice in the summer. Individual air conditioners in each room. I brought my own laptop and they have a cord you can sign out so you have internet in your room or from any electrical outlet in the house, not exactly wireless but it works well and it's fast.

The only thing I really did not like ewas the smell when I walked in the door. A strong smell of bad mens cologne. There was a bucket in the lobby that water was dripping into. Perhaps it was to cover the smell of stale water? I'm not sure but that part was not pleasant.

All in all a pretty good stay and a good location

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place

Address: 33 Beaty Ave., Toronto, Ontario M6K 3B3 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnevue Manor Bed & Breakfast Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.