We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house at the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast

Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
31 Granby Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lyon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A house at the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I spent a pleasant week end in this B&B which is located at the heart of downtown. It is very convenient to visit, you just need to walk around or to get the subway which is very close.
I really would like to underline how it was nice to stay over there, the house is nice and has its own terrasse.
Above all I enjoyed the great breakfast and the discussion with Paul (the owner) who shared a lot about his canadian experience. You gonna learn a lot about Canada, just ask him, he will be glad to explain how it works over there !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
24
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Les Amis B & B's downtown Toronto location makes it easy to get around the city whether walking or using the subway. Paul-Antoine Buer's a great host -- we appreciated his tourism ideas (he obviously loves Toronto and wants visitors to take advantage of all the city has to offer) and his home-cooked breakfasts were great! I especially appreciated the gluten-free offerings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Excellent home-made breakfast, good location at the town center, warm welcome from the host, who sat down with us to give us a good overview of the points of interest in town. He was very nice and helpful. Nice terrace at the back of the top floor. The room was clean but very basic. BB Les Amis lacked a nice, appealing common area indoors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. I had a comfortable, clean room on the third floor, shared the bathroom with one other room. It was simply decorated, had an air conditioner, a small TV, queen bed and a table + chairs. Outside the room were a kettle, microwave, cookies, tea etc. There was a lovely roof deck available though I didn't use it being out all day.
There was also a lounge on the main floor with a full sized TV.
The breakfast was served at 8:30 (no sleeping in if you want it, some guests preferred to sleep), it was delicious and complete, a different "entree" every day + fruit, OJ, bread, granola, yogurt, coffee etc.
The host Paul-Antoine was very gracious and helpful, engaging guests in conversation in French and English. There were mostly European guests when I was there which made things more cosmopolitan.
The location is good, close to the ROM and AGO, with a subway stop just a few hundred meters away. It is a strange little neighbourhood of Victorian houses, protected from much of the downtown noise by being surrounded by a wall of highrises.
I think it was a good value and would recommend it to anyone looking far an inexpensive B&B. They also have a sister B&B called Au Petit Paris with provate bathrooms in all the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

moving from london (england-not the one in ontario!), i needed a place to stay for a while whilst looking for somewhere to live in toronto.

having struggled as a vegetarian in france on many occasions, the idea of a french vegetarian b & b was too good to pass up.....

it is a wonderful place to stay. the rooms are all good. its is on a quiet residential street but in a fantastic central location- basically everything is in walking distance, and you are moments from college subway station if you need to go further afield.

the breakfasts really make this place and over the week i was there i shared the table with an eclectic and very interesting bunch which included yoga teachers, professors of philosophy, photographers and theatre buffs. together with the excellent tasty breakfasts served up i cannot think of a better way to start the day.

staying here is completely different to staying in an impersonal hotel. Paul-Antoine is an excellent host and full of super tips about what and how to do things in the fine city of toronto.

i highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Les Amis is in an excellent location for exploring the city most things walkable or public transport very conveniently nearby. The room was clean and very comfortable and there was a communal fridge and area to make drinks which was a great idea especially with a young child. The breakfast expertly prepared by the owner Antoine was so good - the crepes and omelette deserve a special mention . Antoine was very helpful and gave us some brilliant insights into the city he was very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy and there was a communal living room which was very useful with a small person in tow. We would certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Well located in a quiet and central area,
the rooms are maniacally cleaned,
the delicious breakfast (with home made crepes of different kind)
changes every day....

But the best.... Paul-Antoine and Michelle, the hosts.
I only met Paul-Antoine but I exchanged some emails with Michelle.
They are very nice and helpful persons that do this work with pleasure
I felt like at home, everything was easy

If I need to find something "negative"....
the walls of the rooms are quite thin. if the other guests are noisy,
then this can be a problem.... However, when I was here, even if the B&B was full, I had no problems of this type.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31 Granby Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Amis - A Vegetarian Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.