We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience. My Fav TO place to sleep.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Drake Hotel Toronto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Awesome experience. My Fav TO place to sleep.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Stayed here for one weekend in August 09'. We booked the Medium Sized Den. And also in the smaller crashpad a few years back.

Check-in/out was a breeze and fast. Staff is really amazing and friendly.
Our room was not exactly your typical hilton hotel layout as you can see from the pictures posted. It feels warm and comfortable and the beds were really nice as well. A little on the small side but for two adults its perfect for a weekend getaway. SUPER clean as well.

The Hotel is just awesome with so many activites going on. The friday there was so much going on at night we didn't even leave the place. Two Dj's spinning on the main lobby, indie band in the basement, skybar was loaded with people so we thought there was no point in searching elsewhere outside the place. Plus an art show with some interesting.

The Coffeeshop at the side has a great selection of all sorts in the morning. definately worth checking out.

Sure it's more expensive than your typical nice hotel but you just can't beat the design and work put into this place. Its also farther down on Queen St W. away from most of the nightlife if thats what your into. But several art displays, small restaurants worth checking out.

I'll definately be staying here again next summer. You can't beat the service and overall feel of this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    66
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
203
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were excited about this hotel because it seems like there isn't much to offer in the way of funky hotels in Toronto. The funkiness was great, but we were disappointed with the rooms. They were just too small to be comfortable.
The staff were friendly (what else would you expect from Canadians?) and the location was ok.
I would recommend this for someone looking for a different style.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Front Desk Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 29, 2009
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the recommendation!

We are sorry you were disappointed with the room as, along with our commitment to urban style and genuine hospitality, Drake is proud to offer a variety of well appointed guest accommodations to suit the needs and desires of all our guests. From our intimate Crash Pads to the newly renovated Suite we have the room to make your next stay comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I stayed at the Drake for two nights with a wedding party. This place was hip AND good, a rare combination. Three venue locations within the hotel for night life make this a geat fit for night life lovers. The staff was helpful,friendly, and on their game. Food was great. In house event planning and attention to detail was also first class. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I have to admit I'm only just getting around to writing a review for my stay at the Drake, which was actually last year, so it may have changed since then. We had a good stay - nice design, nice rooms, fantastic location and good bar downstairs. I liked the bathroom and the Aveda products.

I was getting over jetlag when we stayed here so I didn't have the most exciting stay, but there was a lot going on near by. The downside was that we could hear a lot of the music from downstairs; it wasn't quite the calm haven I'd hoped for - but then, I guess you can't have everything and it did boast a fantastic & lively location so I should probably have expected it to be a bit noisy. Fab staff, very helpful. My partner went and hung out at the bar and drank the cocktails that we'd been given free vouchers for and thought the bar (and the cocktails) were great.

I had a good stay, don't get me wrong - but I might stay somewhere else next time as I think I am just not cool enough to really enjoy the Drake. Maybe a bit quieter or just less 'on trend'. So if you are looking for somewhere fabulous, stay here - it really was fab. Just not me. I am clearly becoming an old granny (at the grand old age of 26!) who likes a bit of peace and quiet and isn't too cool for school. Or cool enough for the Drake. Or something. I did like the nice design though and I feel bad for not being in love with the experience. I bet you would be.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I checked into The Drake for a single night, on my own on the way through Toronto after the friend I was supposed to be staying with turned out to be in China. And it was a pretty good result...
The hotel is very, very cool. Small (only 19 rooms) and trendy (think mismatched vintage furniture) but excellent service, friendly staff, a very comfy bed and a location in a cool part of town - all hip bars, fashionable restaurants, clothing boutiques and vintage furniture shops.
I stayed in a 'crash pad' which was tiny, but enough for me for a night. It would have got decidedly claustrophobic for more than a night or with someone else, but for this purpose it was fine, if a little expensive (although it was the last night of the Toronto Film Festival, so maybe that was to be expected).
It was a slightly odd trip, as I was in transit to the US and didn't have much time in town, but The Drake is a cool hotel - backed up with the 'cool hotel' books it's featured in sitting around the room. It would definitely be a serious contender if I came back to Toronto, but if I was travelling with someone else, it would have to be a bigger room and they get kind of expensive...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I was despondent to leave the hip, quirky environs of The Drake. I loved everything about this place -- the location in a funky arts district, the original art in every room, the small size (19 rooms, I think), the fact that a wonderful coffee shop/resto is on the ground floor and an open-air bar/resto is on level 2, but mostly I loved the staff. Young, fashionable and refreshingly free of attitude. Very knowledgeable and quick to help.

When was the last time you stayed in a hotel with a curator on staff? The Drake has one.

I'm a 40-something traveler who was apprehensive about the noise level after reading some reviews on this site. I needn't have worried. I was there three nights while parties related to the Toronto International Film Festival raged below me. I slept like a log all three nights -- tho' I did use earplugs one night.

I wouldn't think of going to Toronto and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Nice staff, comfortable room. The bath is open to the room, so if you are traveling with someone you should be comfortable using toilet/showering/etc in front of them (ie, OK with partner, but not necessarily your daughter).

Great room service meal from the restaurant.

Only complaint is the noise from the club. This is more of a hipster/after-hours scene than a business hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Yuristy, Hotel Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Throughout the Toronto International Film Festival, the city comes alive with parties and events of all kinds. At the Drake, our 4AM license gives guests + patrons extra time to enjoy lively music programming + cultural happenings. We appreciate that not everyone is here to join the celebrations, but we go out of our way to ensure that our hotel rooms are sanctuaries for a quiet night’s rest, despite the dynamic lobby and food + beverage venues. As our guest, please don’t hesitate to let us know what we can do to make your environment more comfortable and relaxing during your stay with us.

X(OH!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.