We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Drake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Save Saved
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Highland, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Drake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently stayed five nights in a crash room at the Drake Hotel which is located in the art district of Toronto. It is a restored boutique style hotel that boasts personality, charm, and a relaxed hip vibe. There are many hotel choices in Toronto and if you want to stay in a place where hospitality and personal attention is first priority you should consider the Drake. I was treated well by everyone who worked at the Drake, especially by Jonathan who I must thank for his personal attention and he,p arranging a tour to Niagara Falls tour. I appreciate his thoughtful consideration to be certain my stay was problem free. My room was the smallest offered but it was adequate and comfortable. The bed was high quality and the room decor showed artistry with handmade crafts, well chosen literature, eclectic snacks and specialty room services and offerings. The hotel reminds me of a better option of The Standard Hotel in Los Angeles with glass showers but with a more artistic feel and comfortable atmosphere. The Hotel has a night club and an open roof level restaurant and a split indoor-outdoor ground level diner. The basement also has an underground club which was hopping. The food was good and the hotel clubs drew a large crowd of hip locals, especially on Friday and Saturday night but every day of the week was busy. I was concerned that the loud music from the clubs would make sleep impossible but from my room 303 I could not hear the clubs at all. The bus pick-up is in front of the hotel and provided an easy way to get to the down town area. Rides are $3 and I rode to the financial area, Chinatown, and other areas many times. At night I never felt uncomfortable on the streets. Taxi rides to the international airport was $50 each way. Many restaurants are nearby. I recommend the Drake Hotel to people who want a restful yet more interesting, hip, artistic, and personal option. Thanks to the Drake Hotel and the staff for a great Toronto trip.

Room Tip: Probably best for younger travelers who don't require the standard full service experience offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    60
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
187
51
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Drake is very "hip" and could have been tricky for a nearly 70 year old couple. But we were looked after with warmth and care (especially by Alan and Jonathan) and never made to feel out of place. We spent 2 days in Toronto, parking our car in the public lot over the road, the front desk staff topping up the parking fees when necessary. Food in the rooftop restaurant, with an Asian taste, was delicious and the wine great. The only negative up there was that as it is technically outdoors, smoking was allowed but the other guests were very respectful and asked us if we minded. When we answered that we'd prefer it if they didn't smoke they were happy to move away. The downstairs cafe for breakfast has both indoor and outside seating and served an excellent range of breakfast dishes with good coffee. Room very modern with very comfortable bed and nice bathroom products. Despite the music up top and the main road location, the bedroom was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The Drake is different, and thank goodness for that. If you are tired of waking up in hotel rooms and not being able to tell what city you are in, then you are ready for the Drake. The rooms are quirky, the scene is uber-hip, and the service is great. The Drake is located in ultra-trendy Queen West. It is a hike from the downtown core ($15 cab, 15 minute streetcar, or a 45 minute walk). But there is tons to do in the local area. Plenty of restaurants (including a very good restaurant at the hotel), cool shops, art galleries, modern furniture stores, and very few chains other than the requisite Starbucks every few blocks. The scene at the Drake is happening every night, with three nightclub spaces and a cafe. Most nights there is entertainment in two venues at the hotel, filled with locals. Jonathan at the front desk is very nice and attentive. We were celebrating our anniversary and he went out of his way to make sure that we had a good stay, including some nice special touches. The rooms are small, but well appointed. Not appropriate for families, but great for couples. There is no gym, but you get access to a gym down the street (1.5 blocks) that is as quirky and hip as the hotel. Parking is tight, but the lot across the street is reasonably priced ($21 per day). We loved the Drake and will come back if we need a hotel in Toronto again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very warm establishment, headed up by head manager Jonathan. Received a lovely upgrade from a very attentive - and friendly - manager. Rooms are cozy, clean, quiet, and funky.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yes, the Drake is cool, sexy, INTERESTING, lively, comfortable as my favorite jeans. For a small hotel they do so much: a minimalist designer room (small but great), outdoor cafe where we take many meals, indoor upscale restaurant, Sky Bar lounge on the rooftop where the hip mingle, the Underground featuring music, dance, even musical theater (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, live during Pride Week--loved it). We love the historical character of the place, and the renovations bridge the very contemporary with historic with steampunk vibe.

Yes it's lively, and it can get noisy on weekends. Knowing this, we asked for a quiet room when we booked, and we got it -- Room 208 on the end, and with windows closed and AC on at night even this light sleeper dozed like a kitten (even though the bar was open until 4am for holiday celebrations).

This is not a hotel where you feel like you could be anyplace: it is rooted in the community, specifically the arts community, the Toronto West Queen community. Right on the tram line, it was easy for us to connect all over this fabulous city, with helpful guidance from the staff. Oh yeah, I've read some reviews about staff not being helpful -- man, they must have hit it on a bad day, because everyone working there made us feel like old friends. Staff seemed excited to work there and make it the special place it is. Kudos especially to manager Jonathan who sets the tone and always finds a way to say "yes!" to anything we could possibly want or need.

We are world travellers who enjoy many different and fine hotels, but there is nothing, THERE IS NOTHING LIKE THE DRAKE.

Room Tip: Top floor, and rooms in back are a little quieter. No elevator if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The most incredible experience ever!! This place completely blew our minds! The awesomeness of such an chic boutique hotel is topped off by the outstanding crew that work there, starting with the Drakes manager Jonathan. We have never experience such attention to detail, hospitality, genuine friendliness and willing to go beyond from such a man, and we have travelled the globe!

The Drake makes you feel special.
It's one of those places you will absolutely adore. The music, the food, the people, the gorgeous little rooms that have the highest quality of products makes everything that much better. We actually had withdrawals once we left!!

I could go on forever... But to try wrap it up, its SIMPLY AMAZING.

But once again, Jonathan LeClaire you are out of this world incredible, and a true asset to such an establishment. Bravo Mr Drake for finding such an outstanding human being! ;D

Annie & Kylie
(The crazy Aussies ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night after seeing a concert in the city. The location is great, easily accessible by public transit (the streetcar stops right at the door!), and close enough to the downtown core but just far enough that it has its own atmosphere. I wanted to try something different from the Delta or Sheraton-type accommodations, and The Drake was just so close to Molson Amphitheatre that how could we not give it a try? The rooms are immaculate and so stylishly designed and decorated. No detail was left out. Incredibly comfortable bed and room in general. The fun reads were also a great addition to the room. Note to others, the ensuite is very much a part of the room. There are frosted glass sliding doors to the toilet area, but apart from that not that much privacy. I would say the room is great for couples and/or very close friends (IMO) in that regard. We stayed during Pride Week so there were many shows and events happening within the hotel's venues and as guests we received free admission to all of them that evening. Had we not been going to see a concert already this would have been an amazing bonus as well! Jonathan and Blair were great with all of our questions and the ability to reserve a parking space was much appreciated and saved us a ton of hassle. Thank you for the great stay! Can't wait to book again in the future.

Room Tip: I think the third floor is probably a bit quieter. We stayed on the second floor and noise could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;