We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, well-done, a little pretentious, no parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Drake Hotel Toronto
1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway With Drake
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Rochester, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Smart, well-done, a little pretentious, no parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A lot of thought and design went into making this very small room hip, quirky, yet very comfortable (and especially quiet given the crowds in the dining rooms and bars). We stay in a lot of hotels and, comparatively, this bed was super comfortable. We wanted a room with a more private bathroom than this one offered, and they are available, but not worth the extra cost to us. The restaurant was very good for brunch and for dinner. Room service was also excellent. There were a couple of times that we felt like we weren't quite hip enough for the place (in our mid-50s), but everyone was super polite and helpful. Free parking would have been nice, but that's not easy in a city like Toronto!

Room Tip: If you want a more private bathroom you need to make that known up-front. But it will cost you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    63
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
196
55
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We live in Toronto but needed a night away from our infant twins, so we chose The Drake (where we had our first date...at the restaurant). It was fabulous - a complete escape. Our room (which had a "den") was spotless and romantically inviting, the staff were friendly and helpful, and dinner at the restaurant was delicious. Located in a very hip neighbourhood, you'll enjoy walking out in the morning to cafes, shops and galleries (unless you stay for breakfast in bed). Rooftop patio is great, too - winter or summer, believe it or not. Authentically Canadian and totally Toronto, you'll have a great stay at The Drake.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor (quieter) if you're staying on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

As a Londoner and daughter of interior designers I'm not the easiest of hotel customers... Drake blew me a away. As stylish as the soho house hotels, but even edgier, without being hard work!

Attention to detail was astounding. Bar fab, cafe fab, staff fab

One of my Top 5 hotels of all time ... And definitely number one for best city break hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

While we were probably thirty years older than most of the clientele, we still thought it was lots of fun. We ate upstairs in the rooftop cafe for lunch which was very good. The next night, after a long day of waking we decided to eat in the Lounge, great dinner. Had eaten at Momofuku the night before, but really liked the Drake meal much better. Then breakfast in their cafe was terrific.
The room, was not large, retro furnishings, wonderful toiletries, flat screen TV. Also stairs no elevator. The staff are enthusiatic and very helpful.

Room Tip: very funky arty area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First class rooms. Every detail of the room's design is deliberate and the craftsmanship is way above ordinary. The weekend night life at the Drake is well-documented. It is hip and top-of-the line. The staff is always helpful, even if you try not to engage them. Did I mention that it is located in one of the most vibrant areas of Toronto?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and i decided on a trip to toronto for our 11th anniversary. Starting with our arrival on Friday we knew the stay would be a great one. Jonathon the hotel manager helped us with our bags and got us checked in. We arrived early and they got us checked in within ten minutes. We enjoyed a drink at the bar and then went to our room. Jonathon had our bags waiting in the room. He couldn't have made the stay more enjoyable, but the rest of the staff could.... The bar and wait staff made us feel like superstars! Gordon, Asia, Vin, Simon and Cameron thank you! And you too Jonathon!

Joe and Theresa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were here for dinner New Year's Day 2013 and were very impressed with the funky, fusion menu and the great ambience. The sushi salad was amazing and my friends loved the house burger. Good food and service in a funky, artsy hotel setting. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel - just ate at the restaurant - just remember this hotel is a bit west o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.