We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the soho house hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Save Saved
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than the soho house hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

As a Londoner and daughter of interior designers I'm not the easiest of hotel customers... Drake blew me a away. As stylish as the soho house hotels, but even edgier, without being hard work!

Attention to detail was astounding. Bar fab, cafe fab, staff fab

One of my Top 5 hotels of all time ... And definitely number one for best city break hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    60
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
187
51
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

While we were probably thirty years older than most of the clientele, we still thought it was lots of fun. We ate upstairs in the rooftop cafe for lunch which was very good. The next night, after a long day of waking we decided to eat in the Lounge, great dinner. Had eaten at Momofuku the night before, but really liked the Drake meal much better. Then breakfast in their cafe was terrific.
The room, was not large, retro furnishings, wonderful toiletries, flat screen TV. Also stairs no elevator. The staff are enthusiatic and very helpful.

Room Tip: very funky arty area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First class rooms. Every detail of the room's design is deliberate and the craftsmanship is way above ordinary. The weekend night life at the Drake is well-documented. It is hip and top-of-the line. The staff is always helpful, even if you try not to engage them. Did I mention that it is located in one of the most vibrant areas of Toronto?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and i decided on a trip to toronto for our 11th anniversary. Starting with our arrival on Friday we knew the stay would be a great one. Jonathon the hotel manager helped us with our bags and got us checked in. We arrived early and they got us checked in within ten minutes. We enjoyed a drink at the bar and then went to our room. Jonathon had our bags waiting in the room. He couldn't have made the stay more enjoyable, but the rest of the staff could.... The bar and wait staff made us feel like superstars! Gordon, Asia, Vin, Simon and Cameron thank you! And you too Jonathon!

Joe and Theresa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were here for dinner New Year's Day 2013 and were very impressed with the funky, fusion menu and the great ambience. The sushi salad was amazing and my friends loved the house burger. Good food and service in a funky, artsy hotel setting. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel - just ate at the restaurant - just remember this hotel is a bit west o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just got back from a friend's wedding in Toronto. The event took place at the Drake and my partner and I stayed at the hotel for the weekend. I have stayed at all the Fairmont's, Hyatt's, etc. Those places don't come close to the warmth, charm and funky vibe we experienced at the Drake. The staff are AMAZING. We felt so taken care of in every way. The room we stayed in was so well designed and clean, mean and green! I am a germaphobe and hotels usually gross me out. This place is so well maintained I could just relax and enjoy my time in the room. There is contemporary art work everywhere you look in the lounge, restaurants and hallways. I will recommend the Drake to every single person I know who is travelling to Toronto. And I will most definitely make it my destination the next time I visit the Big Smoke...

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor which was a tad noisy, but not ridiculous. Will book the 3rd floor next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday and a retirement and wanted someplace special to stay in Toronto. On a previous Toronto visit, a great lunch on the patio of the Drake had sparked our interest in this very unique and cleverly appointed hotel. We knew the Drake was a charming blend of 1920’s setting and current hip, including some great art, so we had high expectations for our stay. What we didn’t know until our time there was how attractive and functional the rooms were, and how totally attentive the entire staff is to their guests. We could not have been treated better, and we loved every minute of it. Over many years of travel, I’ve never been moved to write a hotel review, but the Drake experience: ambience, room, food and staff deserve passionate enthusiasm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.